Printer Friendly

Awards celebrate success of Wales' vital technology sector.

Byline: Sion Barry Business Editor

he finalists in this year's Wales Technology Awards can be revealed.

The awards, from network for Wales' technology sector, ESTNET, champion the outstanding achievements and innovations in the sector - ranging from ground-breaking advances in hardware, through to pioneering applications in edtech, fintech, and cyber security.

The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff on June 22.

Avril Lewis, managing director of the ESTNET, said: "The Wales Technology Awards stand to celebrate the vital contributions and successes of the circa 3,110 businesses and 40,000 people in Wales who represent our industry.

"The quality and volume of entries we received this year demonstrates what the ESTNET has known for many years; here in Wales we design, develop, manufacture and integrate some of the world's most advanced enabling technologies that are driving and integral to the development of key market sectors.

"It is also clear that our sector is growing, and the dedicated work of the companies the ESTNET represents a true driving force for the Welsh economy and job creation.

"We are delighted to be joined by sponsors, including our headline partner, the Sony UK Technology Centre (UK TEC), to deliver an event that will recognise and promote their achievements."

Previous winners of the Wales Technology Awards include IQE, Microsemi, General Dynamics UK, and emerging Welsh technology companies, such as the online polling platform Doopoll and cloud services provider Skybrid.

THE FINALISTS Sir Michael Moritz Tech Start-up Award | Amplyfi | Boma Camp | Byte IT | Codeherent | Digital Profile | Properr Software | SamePage Group | Talkative | Wealthify Technology Leader of the Year Award | Denise Powell, open innovation manager at IQE | James Smith, co-founder of DEVOPSGUYs | Scott Burton, technical director of Zipporah Best New Talent Award | Alina Griestaragiene from Infineon Technologies Newport Ltd | Josh Brown from Method4 | Kate Martin from DEVOPSGUYs Industry Trailblazer Award | Method4 | National Software Academy | Yard Digital Innovative Product of the Year Award | GP Commissioning | ServiceTracker | Symlconnect | Vizolution | Wales Interactive | Wealthify Best Tech Adopter Award | Barry Island Primary | Natural Resources Wales | Ysgol Cae Top


<B Avril Lewis, chief executive of EstNet

No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2017 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Business
Publication:Western Mail (Cardiff, Wales)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:May 31, 2017
Previous Article:Champions League final can SHOWCASEWALES to the world.
Next Article:Uni shortlists two sites for new school.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters