Printer Friendly

Awards and honors.

Patricia A. Abbott, Columbia, MD., has been appointed to a technical expert panel (TEP) to provide guidance to an effort to synthesize learning from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) Health IT program, known as Transforming Healthcare Quality Through Information Technology (THQIT). The project aims to further the state of knowledge of health IT planning, implementation, and effects through synthesis of THQIT grantee efforts; o translate this knowledge into guidelines for hospitals and health centers; and produce recommendations for AHRQ as it continues funding and supporting work in health IT. Findings and guidelines will be disseminated through the National Resource Center for Health IT (NRC). From Dr Patricia Hinton-Walker and the American Academy of Nursing e-mail list.

Cecilia A. Backman, Irving, TX, received the Spirit of HIMSS award October 2009.

Colleen Frey, Royal Oak, MI was elected Student Liaison to the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) Nursing Informatics Working Group for 2010 to 2011.

Brian Gugerty, Arnold, MD, was elected Member-At-Large, of the Clinical Information System Working Group, of the American Medical Informatics Association.

Rosemary Kennedy, Malvern, PA, was elected as Chair Elect of the AMIA Nursing Informatics Working Group.

Yan Wang Kolbas, Raleigh, NC was named the 2009 Nurse of the Year--Health Systems by the North Carolina Nurses Association at their annual convention held in Raleigh October 2009. Yan is a Nursing Information System Specialist III at Duke University Health System. Jacqueline A Moss, Trussville, AL, was elected secretary of the AMIA Nursing Informatics Working Group.

Judy Murphy, West Allis, WI, was elected to the HIMSS Board of Directors.

Susan K. Newbold, Franklin, TN, was elected to the HIMSS Nominating Committee.

Paulina Sockolow, Philadelphia, PA, was elected as Chair Elect 2010 of the Student Working Group of the American Medical Informatics Association.

Mark D. Sugrue, Wrentham, MA has been appointed to serve as the new HIMSS Nursing Informatics Task Force Chair 2009-2011.

Suzy Vaughn, Spencer, IN, Chairperson of the CPHIMS Technical Committee 2009--2010. This year the committee objectives are to initiate the next version of the CPHIMS exam, program maintenance, global expansion of the CPHIMS Exam (ie. with COACH in Canada), and promote continued awareness of the value of CPHIMS certification. Suzy became a Fellow in HIMSS September 2009.

Betsy Weiner, Brentwood, TN, was elected to membership in the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI).

By Susan K Newbold, PhD RN-BC FAAN FHIMSS
COPYRIGHT 2009 Capital Area Roundtable on Informatics in Nursing
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:MEMBER NEWS
Author:Newbold, Susan K
Publication:CARING Newsletter
Date:Dec 22, 2009
Previous Article:Presentations.
Next Article:Bytes of interest.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |