Printer Friendly

Awards and Prizes.

GEORCE C. RABLE of the University of Alabama was awarded the 13th annual Lincoln Prize at Gettysburg College for Fredericksburg! Fredericksburg!, published by the University of North Carolina Press. The Lincoln Prize, including a cash award of $20,000, is presented to the finest scholarly work on Abraham Lincoln, the American Civil War soldier, or a subject relating to their era. In addition, a special "E-Lincoln Prize" was awarded to's recently introduced website on the Civil War, which made the complete contents of forty wartime newspapers available to the public. The $50,000 award goes to its founder, John Adler. For more information, visit < lincoln_prize/index.html>.

THE VIRGINIA HISTORICAL SOCIETY has awarded thirty-eight research fellowships for 2003 to scholars from eighteen states, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Each recipient receives a stipend while conducting research at the VHS. The most popular categories to be examined in recent years are African American history, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and women's history. Some of the specific projects being researched this year include a cultural history of the Shenandoah Valley (Paul Anderson, Clemson University) and pain and suffering in moral evaluations of slavery (Margaret Abruzzo, Notre Dame). For information on the Fellowship program, visit the Society's website at < fellowships.htm>.

DAVID S. HEIDLER AND JEANNE T. HEIDLER received a 2003 Distinguished Book Award from the Society for Military History for Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political and Military History. The award is for the best book-length publications in English on military history copyrighted in the previous three calendar years.

THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR and the National Park Service (NPS) recently designated an antebellum plantation and 3,500 acres near Middletown, Va., as the Cedar Creek and Belle Grove National Historical Park, the 388th unit of the National Park System. As a partnership between NPS and three non-profit preservation organizations, Cedar CreekBelie Grove represents the next generation of national parks. For more information, visit <>.

THE SOUTHERN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION is accepting manuscripts for two book prizes. The Charles S. Sydnor Award recognizes a distinguished book in southern history, and the Bennett H. Wall Award, recently created to honor the long-term service of a former secretary-treasurer and president of the SHA, recognizes the best book published in southern business or economic history. Entries should be submitted before March 1, 2004. For more information, visit the Association's website at <>.

THE SOUTHERN HISTORIAN, a refereed journal written and edited by graduate students, announces the creation of the Charles G. Summersell Fellowship. This $250 cash award will be presented annually for an outstanding submission in the field of Southern history. For more information, email <>, or visit the website at <http://>.

COPYRIGHT 2003 Kent State University Press
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:End notes
Publication:Civil War History
Date:Dec 1, 2003
Previous Article:John E. Wool and the New York City draft riots of 1863: a reassessment.
Next Article:Conferences.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |