Printer Friendly

Award winners.


During each Congress of Correction, many individuals and organizations are recognized for their significant contributions to the corrections field. The American Correctional Association would like to congratulate the following award recipients, as well as any others who were honored during the congress in Charlotte, N.C., this past summer.

American Correctional Association

Blanche L. La Du Award

Kansas Correctional Association

E.R. Cass Correctional Achievement Award

See pages 72 and 73.

American Correctional Chaplains Association

The Judith Coleman

Chaplaincy Offender Program Award

Daystar Center for Spiritual Recovery


Commission on Accreditation for Corrections

Walter P. Dunbar Award

Richard L. Stalder, secretary, Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections

Golden Eagle Award

Pennsylvania Department of Corrections

Keohane Award (formerly Chairman's Award)

Jaime Haight, chief, Program Analyst Section, Federal Bureau of Prisons

At the Congress, ACA and the Commission on Accreditation for Corrections (CAC) renamed the Chairman's Award for Tim Keohane, a former Federal Bureau of Prisons warden and senior CAC auditor. Keohane, who died suddenly during an audit in April, was lauded as one of ACA's best and for his professionalism and willingness to work with agencies to bring them up to the standards he promulgated. Keohane was from a long line of corrections professionals including his grandfather and father, as well as brothers Tom and Pat who attended the awards ceremony in Charlotte. Jaime Haight was named the first recipient of the Keohane Award for her dedication and outstanding leadership. Haight started working for the BOP in 1985, and in 1992, she became responsible for overseeing audits and accreditation of federal facilities and programs.



North American Association of Wardens and Superintendents

Warden of the Year

Michael Samberg, Metro Davidson Detention Facility, CCA, Nashville, Tenn.

Medal of Valor Award

All employees of Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections for extraordinary service during Hurricane Katrina; Iraqi Correctional Service--Allan Collins, John Gearhart, Thomas Hopper, Terry Kidwell and Jim Millar

Salvation Army

Chaplain of the Year

Vance Drum, chaplain, Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Eastham Unit, Lovelady, Texas

Student Poster Session Winners


Eric Westphal and Frank Cecchinelli, Northern Illinois University (First place); Sondra New, Eastern Kentucky University (Second place)


Sandi Winter, University of Kentucky (First place); Will Mingus, Northern Illinois University (Second place)

Volunteers of America

Maud Booth Correctional Services Award Recipient

Carol Shapiro, founder and executive director, Family Justice, New York, N.Y.


In addition, certification examinations were administered during the congress. The following individuals received certified corrections professional status in the categories of corrections officer (CCO), corrections manager (CCM) and corrections executive (CCE). The following list includes professionals who have been certified since June 2006, including those certified at the congress in Charlotte.

Executive level: Mary J. Dufrene, CCE, correctional department head, Corrections Department, Raceland, La.; James M. Eakins, CCE/Juv, deputy compact administrator, Support Services Division, Edmond, Okla.; David W. Peek, CCE, deputy warden, Gwinnett County Department of Corrections, Lawrenceville, Ga.; Timothy Earle Purcell, CCE, deputy director correctional, Navy Personnel Command, Lakeland, Tenn.; Michael Shawn Sales, CCE, assistant warden, Otero County Prison Facility, Chaparral, N.M.; Gene Shinault, CCE, assistant warden, Bland Correctional Center, Bland, Va.

Manager level: Harold E. Beatty, CCM/Juv, district supervisor, Oklahoma County District Office, Oklahoma City; Michael C. Greer, CCM, captain, Detention Division, Charlotte, N.C.; Marvin Hill, CCM/Juv, administrator/programs, Central Oklahoma Juvenile Center, Tecumseh, Okla.; Wayne J. Millus, CCM, executive officer, Forcht Wade Correctional Center, Keithville, La.; Rebecca Roberts, CCM/Juv, assistant district supervisor, Oklahoma County District Office, Wewoka, Okla.; Andrew Robertson, CCM/Juv, Program Manager, L/E Rader Center, Sand Springs, Okla.; Jerry Skinner, CCM/Juv, district supervisor, Juvenile Services Division, Clinton, Okla.; Rhonda L. Smith, CCM, division commander, Detention Division, Castle Hayne, N.C.; Mary Jo Sullivan, CCM/Juv, programs manager, Support Service Division, Norman, Okla.; Jennifer L. Thatcher, CCM/Juv, administrative programs officer, Support Services Division, Norman, Okla.

Supervisor level: Linda B. Adams, CCS, senior probation officer, Appalachian Detention Center, Honaker, Va.; Teresa B. Jordan, CCS, sergeant, Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office, Charlotte, N.C.; Annie DeLoise Rodgers, CCS, case manager II, Community Aftercare Program, Pensacola, Fla.; Elizabeth D. Ruhl, CCS/Juv, juvenile justice specialist, Community Services Division, Tulsa, Okla.; Carolyn Davis Waugh, CCS/Juv, social services supervisor, Central Oklahoma Juvenile Center, Sand Springs, Okla.

Officer level: Paula Renee Holte-Norder, CCO, detention officer, Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office, Charlotte, N.C.; Alfred Jerrell, CCO, detention officer, Detention Division, Charlotte, N.C.; Gary L. Rodgers Jr., CCO, corporal, Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office, Huntersville, N.C.; Viola P. Scott, CCO, training officer, Detention Division; Charlotte, N.C.; Randall M. Simpson, CCO, officer, Adult Correctional Facility; Beach Park, Ill.; Tameka D. Talford, CCO, corporal, Detention Division; Charlotte, N.C.; Marsha M. Williams, CCO, detention officer, Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office, Charlotte, N.C.

Recertified: Thomas Bay, CCE, captain, Detention Division, Centennial, Colo.; Richard Ducote, CCS, major, Louisiana State Penitentiary, Angola, La.; Earnestine Smith, CCO, sergeant master, Washington Correctional Institute, Angie, La.; Leon Spears, CCO, correctional officer, Jetson Correctional Center for Youth, Baton Rouge, La.; Melvin R. Warner Sr., CCS, training officer, Louisiana State Penitentiary, Angola, La.; Deborah A. Williams, CCM, inmate jobs coordinator, Brushy Mountain Correctional Complex, Petros, Tenn.



COPYRIGHT 2006 American Correctional Association, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:American Correctional Association honors correctional personnel
Publication:Corrections Today
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Oct 1, 2006
Previous Article:Banquet.
Next Article:Workshop coverage: 136th Congress of Correction workshops address a variety of issues.

Related Articles
ACA honors E.R. Cass Award winners.
ACA's highest honor.
Awardees: congress award winners.
Individuals honored at ACA's 2006 Winter Conference.
E.R. Cass Award: ACA's highest honor.
E.R. Cass citations: E.R. Cass Correctional Achievement Award.
E.R. Cass Award: ACA's highest honor.
Award winners.
ACA president leads 2008 annual tribute to fallen officers.
ACA's highest honor.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters