Printer Friendly

Award recipient embraces faith and science.

The Johnson Institute has established an award designed to honor those who promote the combined power of faith and science in furthering addiction prevention and recovery. The organization, devoted to advancing addiction recovery solutions, in May presented James B. Nelson with the inaugural honor under the Irene and Wheelock Whitney Award. A theologian, author and teacher, Nelson wrote the book Thirst: God and the Alcoholic Experience. Johnson Institute President Johnny Allem said in a statement, "Thirst is an engaging and extraordinary book for pastors and others who want a theological understanding of addiction so they can be part of the recovery solution."

Allem described the award as honoring a person who "... through their research, teaching, writing, or service demonstrates that both the power of spirituality and religion and the power of medicine are important to the prevention, intervention and treatment of alcoholism and other drug addiction." The establishment of the award coincides with the Johnson Institute's recent launch of an effort to help faith organizations address alcohol and drug problems in their communities.

This section appears in every issue of Addiction Professional. If you have an announcement of interest to clinical professionals in addiction, we may consider it for this section. Send your news to Gary Enos, Addiction Professional, 208 Governor Street, Providence, RI 02906, or send an e-mail message to
COPYRIGHT 2004 Vendome Group LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Of Note; James B. Nelson; Johnson Institute
Publication:Addiction Professional
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jul 1, 2004
Previous Article:Random thoughts, from home and abroad.
Next Article:N.Y. health system shows awareness of alcohol issues.

Related Articles
The Spingarn Medal.
2001-2002 Foundation contributors.
Minutes of the meetings of the Indiana Academy of Science 1996.
Program Manager magazine: a quick reference for last year's articles.
Announcing AACN scholarship recipients for the 2007-08 Academic Year.
Erskine Award honors 5 women; Contributions acknowledged in arts, science, education, law, social service.
Burncoat High; 267 diplomas awarded.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters