Printer Friendly

Award for outstanding industrial achievement.

In May 1966, the Defense Supply Agency established an Industrial Security Award Program for participating contractors of the Defense Industrial Security Program (DISP). This Department of Defense (DoD)-wide program evolved from a similar program developed in November 1963 by the Bureau of Naval Weapons to recognize its prime (cleared) contractors for outstanding industrial security achievement.

In 1980, the Defense Investigative Service (DIS) inherited the responsibility for administering this award program, known as the Department of Defense James S. Cogswell Outstanding industrial Security Achievement Award.

The award, which was named in honor of Colonel James S. Cogswell, United States Air Force, the first chief of the unified office of industrial security, symbolizes a joint government-industry commitment to industrial security excellence. It also serves as an incentive to motivate contractors to improve their security programs.

To be considered for this award, contractors must demonstrate excellence in DISP over two-year period. Some of the evaluated criteria include management support for the industrial security program; a record of commendable security inspection results; an effective on-going security education, awareness, and motivation program; and the professionalism and knowledge of the facility security officer.

Beginning in January of each year, industrial security representatives from DIS nominate a small number of defense contractors that they believe meet the established criteria. Nominations must then be approved by the representative's supervisor and DIS regional management.

DIS headquarters also reviews the nomination packages and checks with federal audit and investigative agencies and appropriate military and government agencies that have issued contracts to the nominated contractors.

About two weeks before the official announcement ceremonies, which take place during either the National Classification Management Society's (NCMS) national training seminar or ASIS's annual seminar and exhibits, senior management officials are informed of their company's selection and invited to attend the ceremony.

Of approximately 12,000 cleared contractor facilities eligible for the award in 1991, only 43 firms were chosen - less than 1/10 of 1 percent.

This award ensures that proper recognition is provided to contractors for their outstanding industrial security achievement and commitment to excel lence in DISP.
COPYRIGHT 1992 American Society for Industrial Security
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1992 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Pentagon Corner; industrial security award program
Author:Donnelly, John F.
Publication:Security Management
Article Type:Column
Date:Jul 1, 1992
Previous Article:Espionage 101 ... and much more.
Next Article:Theft from the inside: what to do.

Related Articles
Black defense firms battle for more contracts.
Industry at the crossroads: Canada's top arms contractors.
Five Custom Woodworkers Receive CWB Design Portfolio Awards.
Eberhart receives military space award. (NDIA News).
Circuits Assembly earns sixth ASBPE award.
FY 2004 Air Force Contracting Award Winners.
American Forces Press Service (Dec. 12, 2005): small defense firms provide big support for warfighters.
Department of Defense news release (April 12, 2006): DoD announces winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.
CBRE on international winning streak with awards hat trick.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters