Printer Friendly

Arrivals and departures shape Federal Reserve Board.

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System underwent a number of changes as 2001 ended and the new year began. Susan Schmidt Bies and Mark W. Olson took office in early December, and at the end of that month Edward W. Kelly Jr. stepped down. In January 2002, Laurence H. Meyer also resigned.

New to the Board

Bies was appointed to a full term that ends Jan. 31, 2012. Prior to her appointment, she was executive vice president for risk management and auditor at First Tennessee National Corp. located in Memphis, Tenn.

Before joining First Tennessee, Bies taught at Rhodes College and at Wayne State University. She also worked at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis as chief regional and banking structure economist.

Olson fills an unexpired term ending Jan. 31, 2010. He was staff director of the securities subcommittee of the Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee for the U.S. Senate prior to his appointment. During his tenure the subcommittee held oversight hearings on implementation of key sections of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act.

Olson also served as a partner with Ernst & Young LLP and its predecessor, Arthur Young & Co., from 1988 to 1999. Earlier, Olson was president and chief executive officer of Security State Bank, located in Fergus Falls, Minn.

Departing members

Kelley submitted his resignation in mid-December, effective at the end of the year. A member of the Board since 1987, Kelley said he was resigning to turn his attention to family and other personal interests. During much of his tenure, he served as chairman of the Board's Committee on Reserve Bank Affairs, which oversees the 12 Federal Reserve Banks.

Meyers resignation was effective the last day of his term, Jan. 31. During his time on the Board, he served as chairman of the Committee on Supervisory and Regulatory Affairs and oversaw the Board's regulatory implementation of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act. Meyer was appointed to the Board by President Clinton in 1996.

The seven members of the Board of Governors are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Financial Update
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jan 1, 2002
Previous Article:Subordinated debt and bank risk.
Next Article:Small banks hold their own.

Related Articles
Roger's fifth.
Cruciform Kurokawa.
Tropical umbrella.
Resignation of Board Governor Kelley. (Announcements).
Kyodo news summary -10-.
Visa Waiver Program: Limitations with Department of Homeland Security's Plan to Verify Departure of Foreign Nationals.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters