Printer Friendly

Architects' society announces annual award recipients.

The New York Council of the Society of American Registered Architects held their Fifth Annual Design Awards Celebration where both professional and student talents were honored. The work displayed included Housing, Institutional, Commercial, Interior Design, International and Student projects. The unique creativity presented clearly exemplified the eclectic character that truly builds an architect.

In recognition of the winners' achievements, The New York Council presented awards at a cocktail reception held at the 200 Fifth Club in New York City. The evening was hosted by the New York council president, Mr. S.D. Don Zivkovic, ARA with awards presented by Mr. Michael J. Macaluso, FARA and chairperson for the event, Ms. Suzette Stoler, ARA.

In addition to the Design Awards Presentation, The New York Council SARA Medallion of Honor was presented to Mr. Arthur Dyson, Dean of the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture Taliesin West. Arthur was recognized for his outstanding contribution to education, including his role of teacher, administrator and leader in the design of contemporary American architecture.

Additionally, a special tribute was made to three specialist contractors who were part of the Grand Central Terminal restoration in New York City. They were recognized for their longstanding support of the architectural profession with their unique skills, commitment and integrity exhibited in the important work of numerous and talented building craftsman. The contractors, D. Magnan & Co., Universal Builders Supply Inc. and Historical Arts & Castings, Inc., were presented with the SARA ACT Award for their Art, Craftsmanship and Technology.

In addition to the winners and their invited guests, there were representatives from all areas of the design community. The jury included Paul DiNatale, assistant commissioner of the department of design and construction of New York City, Barry Milowitz Founder, New York Council SARA, and special guests, James Leonard, R.A., Borough Commissioner Department of Buildings, Queens, and Adriana Garcia, a member of the City Council Land Use Division.
COPYRIGHT 2000 Hagedorn Publication
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2000, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:New York Council of the Society of American Registered Architects
Publication:Real Estate Weekly
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1U2NY
Date:Jul 19, 2000
Previous Article:Home warranties available online.
Next Article:Hart properties sold for $13.25M.

Related Articles
AIA elects officers, honors members at annual meeting.
Architect honored with Lifetime Achievement Award.
"Big Apple Can" wins award. (Design and Development).
NY Society of Architects honors Marvin Meltzer. (Transcripts).
Meltzer/Mandl Architects wins excellence award. (Transcripts).
Architects collect three SARA design awards.
Tishman Construction Corporation.
Scarano is Brooklyn Icon.
Israel bonds plans to honor Kondylis.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters