Printer Friendly

Appendix II.



Territory of Michigan

William Hull                             1805-1813
Lewis Cass                               1813-1831
George B. Porter                         1831-1834
Henry D. Gilpin (1)                             --
Stevens T. Mason (2)                     1834-1835

State of Michigan

Stevens T. Mason, Democrat               1835-1839
William Woodbridge, Whig (3)             1840-1841
James Wright Gordon, Whig (4)                 1841
John S. Barry, Democrat                  1842-1845
Alpheus Felch, Democrat (5)              1846-1847
William L. Greenly, Democrat (6)              1847
Epaphroditus Ransom, Democrat            1848-1849
John S. Barry, Democrat                       1850 (7)
Robert McClelland, Democrat (8)          1851-1853
Andrew Parsons, Democrat (9)             1853-1854
Kinsley S. Bingham, Republican           1855-1858
Moses Wisner, Republican                 1859-1860
Austin Blair, Republican                 1861-1864
Henry H. Crapo, Republican               1865-1868
Henry P. Baldwin, Republican             1869-1872
John J. Bagley, Republican               1873-1876
Charles M. Croswell, Republican          1877-1880
David H. Jerome, Republican              1881-1882
Josiah W. Begole, Fusion                 1883-1884
Russell A. Alger, Republican             1885-1886
Cyrus G. Luce, Republican                1887-1890
Edwin B. Winans, Democrat                1891-1892
John T. Rich, Republican                 1893-1896
Hazen S. Pingree, Republican             1897-1900
Aaron T. Bliss, Republican               1901-1904
Fred M. Warner, Republican               1905-1910
Chase S. Osborn, Republican              1911-1912
Woodbridge N. Ferris, Democrat           1913-1916
Albert E. Sleeper, Republican            1917-1920
Alex J. Groesbeck, Republican            1921-1926
Fred W. Green, Republican                1927-1930
Wilber M. Brucker, Republican            1931-1932
William A. Comstock, Democrat            1933-1934
Frank D. Fitzgerald, Republican          1935-1936
Frank Murphy, Democrat                   1937-1938
Frank D. Fitzgerald, Republican (10)          1939
Luren D. Dickinson, Republican (11)      1939-1940
Murray D. Van Wagoner, Democrat          1941-1942
Harry F. Kelly, Republican               1943-1946
Kim Sigler, Republican                   1947-1948
G. Mennen Williams, Democrat             1949-1960
John B. Swainson, Democrat               1961-1962
George Romney, Republican (12)           1963-1969
William G. Milliken, Republican (13)     1969-1982
James J. Blanchard, Democrat             1983-1990
John M. Engler, Republican               1991-0000

(1.) Gilpin was nominated for the office of governor by President
Jackson, after George Porter, the previous governor, had died in
office on July 6, 1834. The Senate, however, rejected the appointment.

(2.) Mason, secretary of the territory since Aug. 1, 1831, served as
acting governor when that office became vacant after the death of
Governor Porter in 1834. Mason was subsequently replaced as secretary
on Sept. 8, 1835, by John S. Horner, who then also technically served
as acting governor of the territory. But the movement for statehood
was so far advanced that few people in Michigan chose to recognize
Horner as Michigan's chief executive officer.

(3.) Woodbridge resigned as governor on Feb. 24, 1841, to become
United States senator.

(4.) Gordon, the lieutenant governor, succeeded to the office of
governor upon the resignation of Woodbridge.

(5.) Felch resigned as governor on March 3, 1847, to become United
States senator.

(6.) Greenly, the lieutenant governor, succeeded to the office of
governor upon the resignation of Felch.

(7.) Barry's term as governor was for one year only because, with
the adoption of the 1850 Constitution, elections for governor were
switched from the odd-numbered to the even-numbered years. Thus
Barry, elected in November 1849, in the last election under the 1835
Constitution, was succeeded on January 1, 1851, by Robert McClelland,
Who had been elected governor in November 1850, in the first election
under the new constitution.

(8.) McClelland resigned as governor on March 7, 1853, to become
secretary of the interior.

(9.) Parsons, the lieutenant governor, succeeded to the office of
governor upon the resignation of McClelland.

(10.) Fitzgerald died in office on March 16, 1939.

(11.) Dickinson, the lieutenant governor, succeeded to the office
of governor upon the death of Fitzgerald.

(12.) Romney resigned as governor on Jan. 22, 1969, to become
secretary of housing and urban development.

(13.) Milliken, the lieutenant governor, succeeded to the office of
governor upon the resignation of Romney. Milliken subsequently became
the first person to become governor of the state through this route
to go on to be elected governor in his own right, winning election to
four-year terms in 1970, 1974, and 1978.
COPYRIGHT 1995 William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1995 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Governors of Michigan
Publication:Michigan: A History of the Wolverine State
Article Type:Chart
Geographic Code:1U3MI
Date:Jan 1, 1995
Previous Article:Appendix I.
Next Article:Notes.

Related Articles
Final rule--correction to amendment to Regulations H and Y. (Legal Developments).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |