Printer Friendly

Anti-govt movement receives first setback.

LAHORE -- The anticipated anti-government movement under the patronage of Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) received first setback on Thursday as the steering committee formed in the recently held multi-party conference (MPC) to formulate the future line of action failed to meet as per schedule.

The MPC held on December 30 had given January 7 deadline to Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Law Minister Rana Sana Ullah to resign from their respective offices.

It was then also announced that a steering committee comprising leaders from the opposition parties will meet on January 4 (Thursday) in Lahore to review the progress on MPCs demands and to recommend future line of action in case the two personalities don't submit their resignations by the set deadline.

PAT spokesperson on Thursday said that steering committee could not meet as per schedule due to engagements of its members. He also said that some members could not make it as they were out of the country. The spokesperson did not give new date for the meeting leaving a question mark on the future strategy of the multi-party conference.

The 18-member steering committee formed by the MPC included, Sardar Latif Khan Khosa, Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo and Qamar Zaman Kaira from the PPP, Jahangir Tareen, Shafqat Mahmood and Aleem Khan from the PTI, Senator Kamil Ali Agha and Chaudhry Zaheeruddin from the PML-Q, Sheikh Rasheed of Awami Muslim League, Liaqat Baloch of Jamaat-e-Islami, Syed Ihsan Shah of Balochistan National Party-Awami (BNP-A), Nasir Sherazi of Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen, Raza Haroon of Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP), Sardar Ateeq Ahmed Khan of Muslim Conference, Sahibzada Hamid Raza of Sunni Ittehad Council, Allama Safdar Ali Shah of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) and Jamshed Dasti of Awami Raj Party. Khurram Nawaz Gandapur of PAT, Manzoor Wattoo of PPP and Jahangir Tareen of PTI were assigned the job of coordination among the members.

The MPC, attended by 40 political and religious parties had passed a 10-point unanimous resolution also demanding of the Chief Justice of Pakistan to take suo moto notice of the tragic Model Town incident involving killing of 14 people.

It had also held Mian Nawaz Sharif, Mian Shehbaz Sharif, Rana Sana and some senior bureaucrats responsible for the incident, besides demanding punishment for those responsible for the change in Khatm-e-Nabuwwat affidavit while terming it a deliberate attempt by the government.

COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Nation (Karachi, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Jan 5, 2018
Previous Article:Assembly to meet on 9th to decide Zehri govt fate.
Next Article:Parliament shows unity on Trump's.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters