Printer Friendly


Samford University, Birmingham, AL, has honored Janet G. Alexander, EdD, RN, assistant professor of nursing, with the George Macon Memorial Award.

The Oncology Nursing Society has honored Susan L. Beck, PhD, APRN, AOCN, FAAN, associate clean for research and scholarship at the University of Utah College of Nursing in Salt Lake City, with the 2003 ONS Distinguished Service Award. Victoria Mock, DNSc, RN,AOCN, FAAN, has received the organization's Distinguished Researcher Award. The director of the Center for Nursing Research at Johns Hopkins University, Dr. Mock is an associate professor in adult health at Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and has a joint appointment in oncology at the School of Medicine in Baltimore, MD.

Three nursing associations have named new editors for their official publications. Nancy Girard, PhD, RN, FAAN, associate professor and member of the graduate faculty at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio School of Nursing, has been appointed editor of the AORN Journal. Kathryn Schroeter, MS, MA, RN, CNOR, a doctoral candidate and member of the clinical faculty of the Bioethics Department of the Medical College of Wisconsin, has been named editor of AORN's SSM and SSM Online. Karen C. Robbins, MS, RN, CNN, of Hartford Hospital, Hartford, CT, has been appointed associate editor of Nephrology Nursing Journal, the official publication of the ANNA. And Ellen Olshansky, DNSc, RNC, professor and chair of the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing, has been named editor of the Journal of Professional Nursing, the official publication of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

Judith L. Papenhausen, PhD, RN, professor of nursing and director of the School of Nursing at California State University, Los Angeles, was named the University's seventh Bautzer Faculty, which recognizes the importance of faculty involvement in CSU advancement efforts.

Brother Ignatius Perkins, OR ONSc, RN, has been named Dean of Health Sciences at Spalding University in Louisville, KY. Brother Perkins, former Executive Vice President of the National Catholic Bioethics Center in Boston, currently serves as secretary of the NLN Board of Governors.

Thelma Wells, PhD, RN, and Carol Brink, MPH, RN, were honored in November as recipients of the Doris Schwartz Gerontological Nursing Award for their joint work on urinary incontinence. The award was given by the Clinical Medicine Section of the Gerontological Society of America in collaboration with the John A. Hartford Institute, part of the New York University Division of Nursing. Dr. Wells recently retired from the University of Wisconsin School of Nursing where she was the Helen Denne Schulte Professor of Nursing. Ms. Brink is an associate professor of clinical nursing at the University of Rochester School of Nursing.
COPYRIGHT 2003 National League for Nursing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Nursing Education Perspectives
Date:Mar 1, 2003
Previous Article:Calendar.
Next Article:Faculty Census Survey of RN and graduate programs. (Headlines from the NLN).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters