Printer Friendly

American Association of Poison Control Centers Welcomes New Board Members.

DENVER -- The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is pleased to announce the election of a new president-elect and three new board members.

After serving for two years as president-elect of AAPCC, Richard Dart, MD, PhD, the director of the Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center in Denver, Colo., has begun a two-year term as president of the American Association of Poison Control Centers. Sandy Giffin, RN, MS, director of the Oregon Poison Center in Portland, Ore., will now begin serving as past-president.

In August, AAPCC members elected Marsha Ford, MD, FACMT, AAPCC's president-elect. Ford is the director of the Carolinas Poison Center in Charlotte, N.C.

During those elections, AAPCC also gave AAPCC Treasurer Jim Williams, MBA, a second term in that role. Williams is the executive director of the Washington Poison Center in Seattle, Wash.

Steve Seifert, MD, FAACT, FACMT, who previously served as an at-large member of the AAPCC board of directors, was elected secretary for the board. Seifert is the medical director of the New Mexico Poison and Drug Information Center in Albuquerque, N.M.

James Mowry, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT, the director of Indiana Poison Center in Indianapolis, Ind., was elected to a second term as an at-large member.

And two new members also were elected in August:

* William Banner, MD, PhD, the medical director of the Oklahoma Poison Control Center in Oklahoma City, Okla., and

* Howell Foster, PharmD, managing director of the Arkansas Poison and Drug Information Center in Little Rock, Ark.

They join Thomas Arnold, the other new face on the board. Arnold, MD, FACMT, was elected to fill a vacancy on the board earlier this year. He is the medical director of the Louisiana Poison Center in Shreveport, La.

Also currently serving on the board are:

* Deborah L. Anderson, PharmD, director of the Hennepin Regional Poison Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

* Jay L. Schauben, PharmD, DABAT, FAACT, director of the Florida/USVI Poison Information Center in Jacksonville, Fla.

* Susan Smolinske, PharmD, DABAT, director of the Children's Hospital of Michigan Regional Poison Control Center in Detroit, Mich.

* Michael S. Wahl, MD, FACEP, FACMT, director and medical director of the Illinois Poison Center in Chicago, Ill.

* Jim Hirt, MBA, executive director of the AAPCC and a non-voting member of the board.

"This board represents decades of experience in the field of poison information and demonstrates the medical expertise poison centers offer as a public health resource," Hirt said. "We are thrilled to have these new members on board, and we are grateful for their service to poison centers and to our organization."

The American Association of Poison Control Centers works to support the nation's 60 poison centers in the valuable work they do. America's poison centers are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Poison centers' toll-free hotline at 1-800-222-1222 serves as a key medical information resource and helps reduce costly emergency room visits.

The 14-member board will convene with its new members for the first time Oct. 12, during the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology in Denver, Colo.
COPYRIGHT 2010 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Geographic Code:1U8CO
Date:Oct 12, 2010
Previous Article:LaSalle Hotel Properties Announces Third Quarter Earnings Call to be Held on October 21, 2010.
Next Article:Chevron Sells Minority Interest in Colonial Pipeline.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters