Printer Friendly

Alaska's Cleveland Volcano Explodes Saturday Morning: Alaska Volcano Observatory.

Alaska's Cleveland Volcano -- aka Mount Cleveland when in a more sedate mood -- began erupting Saturday at 5 a.m. AKDT (9 a.m. EDT), according to the (http://www.avo.alaska.edu/) Alaska Volcano Observatory , or AVO.

The Cleveland Volcano is in a comparatively remote area of the Aleutian Islands, about 940 miles southwest of Anchorage, the (http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_CLEVELAND_VOLCANO?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT) Associated Press reported.

Here is the full text of an AVO information statement about the event issued 6:22 p.m. AKDT (10:22 p.m. EDT):

"Cleveland Volcano

"52[degrees]49'20" N 169[degrees]56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)

"Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH

"Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

"The current eruption of Cleveland Volcano, which began with an explosion this morning at 5:00 AM AKDT (13:00 UTC), has transitioned into a continuous low-level eruption. The activity is characterized by long duration airwave signals measured on the nearby Okmok seismic network, 120 km (80 mi) to the northeast. Larger discrete explosions occurred at roughly 5:00 AM, 9:17 AM, and 11:44 AM AKDT (13:00, 17:17, and 1944 UTC). Satellite and webcam data suggest continuous low-level emissions of gas, steam, and minor amounts of ash over the past several hours with a faint plume extending eastward below 15,000 ft. Satellite data also show highly elevated surface temperatures at the summit.

"Sudden explosions of blocks and ash are possible with little or no warning. Ash clouds, if produced, could exceed 20,000 feet above sea level. If a large ash-producing event occurs, nearby seismic, infrasound, or volcanic lightning networks should alert AVO staff quickly. However, for some events, a delay of several hours is possible. Cleveland Volcano does not have a local seismic network and is monitored using only distant seismic and infrasound instruments and satellite data.

"AVO will continue to monitor the volcano and issue additional information as available."

AVO is a joint program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the Geophysical Institute of the University of Alaska Fairbanks and the State of Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
COPYRIGHT 2013 International Business Times
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 
Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:International Business Times - US ed.
Geographic Code:1U9AK
Date:May 5, 2013
Words:363
Previous Article:Katrina Kaif's Sister Isabel to Debut in Canadian Film Co-Produced by Salman Khan.
Next Article:Caterpillar Axing Decatur Head Count By Another 300, As Backlog Of Orders Sinks By One-Third.
Topics:

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters