Printer Friendly

Airline blacklist released in France.


The French civil aviation authority published late Sunday (28 August) a list of six airlines that are not permitted to land on French soil.

The carriers are from Thailand, the US Virgin Islands, North Korea, Mozambique and Liberia, and have been banned due to safety concerns.

The publication of the blacklist follows five recent aircraft accidents, including the crash of a West Caribbean Airways charter flight in Venezuela which killed 152 French citizens from the Caribbean island of Martinique.

The airlines barred from operating in France are North Korea's Air Koryo, Air St. Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, International Air Services of Liberia, Thailand's Phuket Airlines, and two carriers from Mozambique - Linhas Aereas de Mocambique and Transairways.

A list of airlines banned from Belgium was expected to be published on Monday (29 August).

The European Union stated on Friday (26 August) that it hoped to publish a similar airline blacklist early in 2006. The EU's Transport Commissioner Jacques Barrot has welcomed the publication of the lists by France and Belgium.

((Comments on this story may be sent to
COPYRIGHT 2005 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Airline Industry Information
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:4EUFR
Date:Aug 29, 2005
Previous Article:Aircraft inspections not properly carried out in Cyprus - claim.
Next Article:Flight operated from Northern Cyprus to Azerbaijan.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters