Printer Friendly

Air Force print news (March 17, 2005): Air Force 2005 Design and Construction Award winners named.

BROOKS CITY-BASE. Texas (AFPN) -- Air Force officials announced the winners of the 2005 Air Force Design Awards, Air Force Agent Awards, and Air Force Design Excellence Awards.

Recipients of an honor award in the design competition:

* Concept Design: indoor community pool at Osan Air Base, South Korea

* Interior Design: bowling center at Royal Air Force Mildenhall, England.

* Landscape Design: Davis Conference Center Park at MacDill Air Force Base, Fla.

* Facility Design: Santa Rosa Island Tower at Eglin AFB, Fla.

* Family Housing: replacement family housing at Mountain Home AFB, Idaho.

Winners of a merit award are:

* Planning Studies: base comprehensive plan at Misawa AB, Japan, and Air Force Space Command installations.

* Sustainable Design: consolidated support facility at Edwards AFB, Calif.

* Concept Design: family housing tower at Osan, and the aircraft maintenance complex of the Tennessee Air National Guard at Nashville.

* Interior Design: dining hall renovation at the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colo.

* Facility Design: passenger terminal canopy and force protection facility at Andrews AFB, Md., and consolidated support facility at Barnes Air National Guard Base, Mass.

* Family Housing: military family housing at MacDill AFB, Fla.

Citation Awards went to:

* Interior Design: rescue wing headquarters at Patrick AFB, Fla., and Arctic Oasis Community Center at Elmendorf AFB, Alaska.

* Facility Design: entry gate alignment and the control tower at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio.

Winners of the 2005 Air Force District, Division or Host Nation Agent of the Year awards and their categories are:

* Design: LBB Kaiserslautern, the German state construction agency.

* Construction: Southern Division Naval Facilities Engineering Command.

* Design Through Construction: Transatlantic Program Center by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

The 2005 Air Force Project Managers of the Year are:

* Design: Douglas Cunningham with the Mobile District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

* Construction: Paul Jalowski with the New York District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and Larry J. Smith with the Sacramento District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

* Design Through Construction: Michael Fischer of LBB-Kaiserslautern.

The 2005 Air Force Design Excellence Award went to:

* Civilian: Robert Woodson of Pacific Air Forces headquarters at Hickam AFB, Hawaii.

* Military: Lt. Col. Guy Wells of U.S. Air Forces in Europe headquarters at Ramstein AB, Germany.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Defense Acquisition University Press
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Acquisition & Logistics Excellence
Publication:Defense AT & L
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jul 1, 2005
Previous Article:Department of Defense news release (April 5, 2005): DoD to award $11.4 million for science and engineering research.
Next Article:Air Force print news (March 17, 2005): J. Lisa Romney named as 2005 Federal 100 Award winner.

Related Articles
Department of Defense news release (May 3, 2004) Secretary of Defense Announces Environmental Award winners.
1st annual DoD AT & L Workforce Development Awards: Air Armament Center takes the Gold.
Michael W. Wynne: Acting Under Secretary of Defense (Acquisition, Technology and Logistics) presents Packard Awards.
American forces press service (May 5, 2005): Pentagon ceremony honors Environmental Award winners.
Department of Defense news release (April 29, 2005): Secretary of Defense 2004 Environmental Award winners named.
Air Force print news (June 3, 2004): Air Force announces Business Awards.
Department of Defense news release (April 12, 2006): DoD announces winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.
American forces press service (May 5, 2006): installations honored for Excellence.
Air logistics center (May 5, 2006): Franz Edelman Award recognizes streamlining efforts.
Department of Defense News Release (Nov. 2, 2006): annual Maintenance Awards announced.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |