Printer Friendly

Agribusiness Leader of the Year.

The Agribusiness Leader of the Year award recognizes leadership achievement in agriculture and the food and fiber industries. This award is the most prestigious recognition that is bestowed by the National AgriMarketing Association (NAMA). The award's name was changed from the Agri-Marketer of the Year in 2001 in recognition of the strong leadership role previous honorees have contributed to the agribusiness industry. This year's honoree, Jim Irwin, retired vice president of Case IH's North American Agricultural Business, certainly reflects the industry leadership recognized by this award. Irwin was presented the award during the 2005 AgriMarketing Conference & Trade Show, April 20-22 in Phoenix, Ariz.


The Agribusiness Leader of the Year honors outstanding leaders in agribusiness, education, government service and other agribusiness-related areas. Nominees are solicited from senior-level positions in private, public or academic service. Nominees exemplify excellence in agribusiness through their contributions to the industry. Nominations may come directly to the national level or through local NAMA chapters who forward chapter honorees. Nominees do not need to be NAMA members.


The NAMA Professional Recognition Committee oversees the process of selection. A nominating panel, selected by the committee, previews the nominees and selects the top four candidates. A judging panel is then appointed to make the final decision from among the final four candidates. The judging panel includes previous honorees of the award.

Each nominee for the Agribusiness Leader of the Year is evaluated based on specific criteria. These criteria and the point value of each are:

Leadership (40): What is the nominee's unique approach to leading others? Demonstrate the nominee's role as a leader within the agricultural industry and far-reaching impact on the agribusiness community. How has the nominee made exceptional contributions and exemplified excellence in agribusiness?

Innovative Ability (20): What is the nominee's understanding of current issues and needs related to agribusiness? How has the nominee's leadership style contributed to unique approaches and demonstrated leadership in action?

Accomplishment (20): Discuss the creative solutions of the nominee regarding issues of national importance. What achievements distinguish the nominee within the past two years?

Industry Leadership (20): What role has the nominee played in professional organizations (primarily organizations serving agribusiness, farmers or ranchers). What have been the nominee's contributions to the agriculture community through service to organizations and the industry?

2005 Jim Irwin, Case IH
2004 Bernie Staller, National FFA Organization/
 National FFA Foundation
2003 Richard Clauss, Hilmar Cheese Company
2002 Charlie Fischer, Dow AgroSciences
2001 Emmett Barker, Equipment Manufacturers
2000 R.W. "Bud" Porter, John Deere
1999 Bruce Bickner, DeKalb Genetics (Monsanto
 Global Seed Group)
1998 William F. Kirk, DuPont Agricultural Enterprise
1997 Arnold Donald, Monsanto Agricultural Group
1996 Harry Cleberg, Farmland Industries
1995 Ed McMillan, Purina Mills Inc.
1994 Dwayne Andreas, Archer Daniels Midland
1993 Robert Wichmann, Pioneer Hi-Bred
 International Inc.
1992 Gary Parker, Lindsay Manufacturing Co.
1991 W.F.R. Griffith, American Cyanamid Co.
1990 Thomas Dille, Rhone-Poulenc Ag Co.
1989 Nicholas Babson, Babson Brothers Co.
1988 Olin Andrews, Farmers Hybrid Cos. Inc.
1987 Dave Garst, Garst Seed Co.
1986 Leo Bontempo, Ciba Crop Protection
1985 Dr. Kenneth L. Bader, American Soybean
1984 John N. Chuchman, Ford Tractors Operations
1983 Dr. Owen J. Newlin, Pioneer Hi-Bred
 International Inc.
1982 Nicholas Reding, Monsanto Co.
1981 R.C. Lanphier III, Dickey-john Corp.
1980 Joe Ecker, Gehl Co.
1979 Robert M. Book, Elanco Products Division,
 Eli Lilly & Co.
1978 Robert M. Hendrickson, Pfizer Agricultural
1977 Donald E. Fritz, Farmer Hybrid Cos. Inc.
1976 Harold Noren, DeKalb Ag Research Inc.
1975 E.W. Cook, Cook Industries
1974 Walt Buescher, Allis Chalmers
1973 Bill Bricker, Diamond Shamrock Chemical
1972 Fred Stines, Successful Farming
1971 Del Walker, Funk Brothers Seed Co.
1970 Dr. James G. Affleck, American Cyanamid Co.
1969 Lyle Yost, Hesston Corp.
1968 Dr. Robert Spitzer, Murphy Products Co.
1967 Emory Dearborn, Ford Tractor Operations
1966 Maurice Turner, Amchem Products Inc.
1965 George Varner, Eli Lilly & Co.
1964 Morris W. Reid, J.I. Case Co.
1963 W.J. Jensen, Butler Manufacturing Co.
1962 Don Murphy, Wallaces Farmer

* The award name was changed from the Agri-Marketer of the Year
Award to the Agribusiness Leader of the Year in 2001.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Doane Information Service
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:2005 AGRIBUSINESS LEADER of the YEAR; National Agri-Marketing Association
Comment:Agribusiness Leader of the Year.(2005 AGRIBUSINESS LEADER of the YEAR)(National Agri-Marketing Association)
Publication:Agri Marketing
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:May 1, 2005
Previous Article:Clearly a leader.
Next Article:Nicholson Kovac Inc.

Related Articles
Leader award winners.
The good ole'days.
Agribusiness Leader of the Year.
NAMA announces award winners.
NAMA chapters celebrate Ag Day.
NAMA announces award winners.
Annual salute to NAMA'S Agribusiness Leader of the Year Award.
Jazzed for the future.
Think big: April 11-13 Hyatt Regency Dallas.
Impact of the president's call to action.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters