Printer Friendly



The collective name of the Norse gods, who lived in heavenly Asgard. There were said to be twelve gods and some twenty - four to thirty goddesses, but the number seems variable. The following may be mentioned: Odin, the chief of the gods; Thor, Odin 's eldest son and god of thunder; Tiu, another son, the god of wisdom; Balder, the Scandinavian Apollo; Bragi, god of poetry; Vidar, god of silence; Hoder the blind, slayer of Balder; Hermoder, Odin's son and messenger; Hoenir, a minor god; Odnir, husband of Freya, the Scandinavian Aphrodite; Loki, the god of mischief; and Vali, Odin 's youngest son.

COPYRIGHT 1987 HarperCollins Publishers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1987 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia, 3rd ed.
Article Type:Reference Source
Date:Jan 1, 1987
Previous Article:Aeolus.
Next Article:Aesop.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |