Printer Friendly

Aaron Philip Dworkin / NSLA.

Byline: Daily Record Staff

The board of directors of the National Summer Learning Association appointed Aaron Philip Dworkin, formerly of the After-School All-Stars, as its new CEO, effective June 3.

Dworkin succeeds founder and interim CEO, Matthew Boulay Ph.D., will lead the Baltimore-based nonprofit whose work for more than 25 years has focused on expanding high-quality summer learning opportunities across the United States.

Dworkin joins NSLA having most recently served as president of the After-School All-Stars National Network a non-profit organization providing free afterschool and summer programs to 90,000 low income students in more than 450 Title I schools in 20 major cities across the United States.Over the past 12 years, Dworkin led the organization through tremendous growth, significantly increasing the number of students served, doubling the After-School All-Stars national footprint and annual revenue, while opening a national office in Washington to expand its advocacy efforts.

Dworkin also oversaw the creation and implementation of the After-School All-Stars' four signature national initiatives, each with their own summer learning program, designed to combat childhood obesity (Sports as a Hook), promote high school and college graduation (We Are Ready), prepare students for careers (CEO: Career Exploration Opportunities) and inspire youth leadership and community service (Life Service Action).

Copyright {c} 2019 BridgeTower Media. All Rights Reserved.

COPYRIGHT 2019 BridgeTower Media Holding Company, LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Record (Baltimore, MD)
Date:May 23, 2019
Previous Article:Baltimore lubricants recycler buys European environmental services firm.
Next Article:Sara H. Arthur, Anirban Basu, Stanford G. Gann Sr., Joseph W. Hovermill, Sharon Krevor-Weisbaum, David M. Martin and Alexandre H. Rene / UM Carey...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters