Printer Friendly

Aamir & Saina among Padma awardees.

THEATREdirector Ebraham Alkazi, who founded the National School of Drama, and Nobel Prize winner Dr Venkatraman Ramakrishnan are among the six Padma Vibhushan awardees this year.

India's topmost mridangam artiste Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman, veteran stage and film actress Zohra Sehgal, former Reserve Bank governor Dr Y. Venugopal Reddy and the chairman of Apollo hospitals Dr Prathap Chandra Reddy were the other winners of the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award.

The government on Monday released a list of 130 names for the Padma awards on the occasion of the Republic Day.

Aamir Khan and music composers Ilaiyaraaja and A. R. Rahman are among the 43 people chosen for the Padma Bhushan.

The other eminent personalities chosen for the award include classical dancer Mallika Sarabhai, Newsweek editor Fareed Zakaria, former cabinet secretary B. K. Chaturvedi and Planning Commission member Abhijit Sen.

US- based NRI Sant Singh Chatwal, Leela Hotel chairman captain C. P. Krishnan Nair and eminent cardiac surgeon Ramakant Panda, who performed a beating heart surgery on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh last year, have also won the Padma Bhushan.

No name has been announced yet for Bharat Ratna, the country's highest civilian honour.

Actors Saif Ali Khan, Rekha and Karnataka's theatre personality Arundati Nag are among the 81 Padma Shri awardees.

Other Padma Shri awardees include Oscar winner Resul Pookutty, cricketer Virender Sehwag, badminton player Saina Nehwal, boxer Vijender Singh and former CBI director D. R. Karthikeyan, who probed the Rajiv Gandhi assassination case.

Havildar Rajesh Kumar of 11 Rajputana Rifles, Major Mohit Sharma of 1 Para ( Special Forces) and Major D. Sreeram Kumar of 30 Assam Rifles are the recipients of the Ashok Chakra.

Havildar Kumar and Maj.

Sharma will received the Ashok Chakra, the highest peacetime gallantry award, posthumously.

Kumar died fighting terrorists in the Kupwara district of J& K on August 1 last year. Sharma was killed in a battle with terrorists in the Hafruda forest in the state last March.

Major Kumar had eliminated 12 terrorists in counter- insurgency operations in the northeast.

Rukhsana Kausar and her brother Aijaz, who fought and killed terrorists in J& K, will be presented the Kirti Chakra.

While 704 police and paramilitary personnel will get police medals, 19 Mention- In- Despatches have been announced for participating in different operations, such as Operation Rakshak, Operation Meghdoot, Operation Hifazat and Operation Rhino.

Copyright 2009 India Today Group. All Rights Reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2010 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mail Today (New Delhi, India)
Article Type:Awards list
Date:Jan 26, 2010
Previous Article:MAIL TODAY COMMENT.
Next Article:All high- value refunds to be under I- T lens.

Related Articles
Two boxers, one wrestler to get Khel Ratna award.
President Patil presents National Sports awards to 25 sportspersons.
Aamir Khan, Rehman, among Padma awardees.
Saina Nehwal dedicates Padma Shri to her parents.
Varanasi's Pandit Channulal Mishra elated on receiving Padma Bhushan Award.
Padma award norms always ignored.
Saif Ali Khan feels he doesn't deserve state award, but is grateful.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters