Printer Friendly

ATSC Honors Goldberg with Highest Technical Honor.

The Advanced Television Systems Committee has honored Adam Goldberg as the 2019 recipient of the organization's highest technical honor, the Bernard J. Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award .

Goldberg chairs the S36 Specialist Group on ATSC 3.0 Security, where he led the development of the A/360 ATSC 3.0 Security and Service Protection Standard. A/360 defines methodologies to secure content and data flows described in ATSC 3.0 specifications.

"Security has been of paramount importance in ATSC 3.0 from the outset, and Adam has been a key technical contributor on ATSC 3.0 security," said ATSC President Madeleine Noland. "By facilitating consensus, Adam helped ensure that strong ATSC 3.0 security not only helps keep our data and content safe, but also enables new business models, such as subscription or pay-per view services, while opening doors to new industry sectors like automotive."

Goldberg, currently Director of Technical Standards at Sony, has been working in television for a quarter century. He was a key player in the analog-to-digital transition a decade ago and has been active in cable television, terrestrial broadcasting and virtually every aspect of the ever-evolving home entertainment landscape.

His career includes key technology and standards roles in various leading companies over the years -- Sony, Pioneer, Sharp, Harmonic and DiviCom, among them. For a decade, he led his own consulting firm, AGP LLC, representing NAGRA, Pearl TV and others.

At ATSC, in addition to leading S36, Goldberg has been active in other specialist groups, including Management & Protocols (S33), Applications & Presentation (S34) and Interactive Environment (S38).

The Lechner Award is bestowed annually to a representative of ATSC's membership whose technical and leadership contributions to ATSC have been invaluable and exemplary. Now in its 20thyear, the award is named for its first recipient in 2000, Bernard Lechner, for his outstanding services to ATSC. Lechner died in 2014 after a long career in TV technology. Selected by the ATSC Board of Directors, Lechner award winners are:

2000 -- Bernard Lechner, Consultant

2001 -- Rich Chernock, Triveni Digital

2002 -- Regis Crinon, Microsoft

2003 -- Glenn Adams, Extensible Formatting Systems, Inc

2004 -- Graham Jones, National Association of Broadcasters

2005 -- John Henderson, Hitachi

2006 -- Art Allison, NAB

2007 -- Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics

2008 -- Michael Dolan, TBT

2009 -- Wayne Bretl, Zenith/LG Electronics

2010 -- Pat Waddell, Harmonic

2011 -- Jim Starzynski, NBC Universal

2012 -- S. Merrill Weiss, MWG Group

2013 -- Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group

2014 -- James Kutzner, PBS

2015 -- Luke Fay, Sony

2016 -- Madeleine Noland, LG Electronics

2017 -- Skip Pizzi, NAB

2018 -- Mark Corl, Triveni Digital

2019 -- Adam Goldberg, AGP/Sony

[c] Copyright 2019 Streamline RBR, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2019 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Radio and Television Business Report (RBR+TVBR)
Date:Jun 3, 2019
Previous Article:An Update To Twitter Search, Aggregation, and Management Capabilities.
Next Article:Stacked Antenna Arrays Supplied by Dielectric Head To Two Big DMAs.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |