Printer Friendly

APCA holds 41st annual convention; Ricky Dyess elected president.

Another record registration of 209 attendees marked the American Pipeline Contractors Association's 41st Annual Convention at The Cloister Resort & Spa last month in Sea Island, Georgia.

Speakers included Greg Guidry, of the Onebane Law Firm, who spoke to regular members on the legislative environment in Washington, particularly the labor front. Other speakers included Mark Bridgers of the Continuum Advisory Group, Jim Spigener, of Behavioral Science Technology, Inc. and Sid McAnnally with Energen Corp. in Birmingham, AL.

Bridgers discussed American competitiveness and the drivers affecting the overall utility construction industry for which he offered a bright forecast. Spigener addressed safety and the culture that must be created within each company. McAnnally talked about America's Natural Gas Alliance (ANGA) and its lobbying efforts on behalf of the natural gas industry.

Jim Angle of Fox News was the featured banquet speaker. He was preceded by outgoing APCA President John Fluharty of Mears Group Inc. who addressed the current political situation and talked about APCA.


"We've pretty well bashed the current administration to death over the last four to five years, so I want to focus on what Mark Bridgers said about what a competitive nation we are. We have all the natural resources, the infrastructure and everything we need to be a continually great nation and to be successful; we really need to get behind the politicians who will help us. We need to be involved at the local level and all the way to the top and be sure we are supporting those candidates that will help our industry grow."

Regarding APCA he commented, "We transport great products that our country needs. We have a growing reserve base that will help us be more self-sufficient as time goes by. Natural gas is the right product at the right time. It truly is the green product of our nation for energy independence."

Fluharty also reviewed the rehabilitation market--driven by the regulatory environment--as another market driver.

"We have an aging infrastructure on all types of underground utilities. We have great drivers that move our markets. The price of oil will continue to drive exploration and drilling. Natural gas is the next big opportunity. We haven't really touched on the drivers for natural gas. We're primarily using it for heating, but it is now shifting to electric generation."

Fluharty agreed that there all sorts of ideas for using natural gas including vehicles because the price of the fuel is making it very attractive. If everyone in the energy business would convert as many of their vehicles as possible, it would consume an additional billion cubic feet of natural gas per day, he noted.

He also commented on the renewal of APCA's alliance with OSHA, noting that he attended a meeting earlier in the year and came away feeling the key people in the federal agency view APAC as the group on the forefront of safety for the pipeline industry.

Fluharty concluded by asking members to make sure their employees attend association safety meetings in addition to regular meetings. He also urged them to bring in new members.

New Officers And Directors

Officers elected for 2012 are: Ricky Dyess, president, M.G. Dyess, Inc., Nick Bruno, vice president, Bi-Con Services, Inc.; Sean Renfro, 2nd vice president, Sunland Construction Inc.; and Bruce Gilliland, secretary/treasurer. J.D. Lormand remains executive director at the association's office in Lafayette, LA.

Other directors are: Pat Simpson, Sterling Construction Co.; Randy Farrar, Farrar Construction, Inc.; Max Nichols, Jomax Construction Co., Inc.; Bill Schettine, Meridien Energy, LLC; John Fluharty, Meats Group, Inc.; Alan Owens, Troy Construction, LLC; and Sean Sullivan, Elkhorn Construction. "Advisory" directors are Morris Farrar, Clovis Hester and John Maxwell.



The associate member board includes: Joe Trapani, president, Caterpillar; Scott Anderson, John Deere & Company; John Lucki, secretary/treasurer, Cross Country Pipeline Supply; Carl & Sonnie Raffety, convention chairpersons, Cross Country Pipeline Supply and Bobby Darby, Darby Equipment, Inc. as golf chairperson.

Next year's annual meeting date is not yet available. For information on APCA contact J.D. Lormand at 337 278-0056 (www. or Ricky Dyess at 601.943.6663.

By Oliver Klinger, Publisher
COPYRIGHT 2012 Oildom Publishing Company of Texas, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Convention Review
Author:Klinger, Oliver
Publication:Pipeline & Gas Journal
Date:Apr 1, 2012
Previous Article:M. Dan Murphy elected president at PLCA's 64th annual convention.
Next Article:DCA celebrates on Big Island, raises $415,000 in annual auction.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters