Printer Friendly

AICPA presents award to outstanding accounting educator.

American Institute of CPAs Chairman Thomas W. Rimerman and President Philip B. Chenok presented the 1991 Outstanding Accounting Educator Award to John K. Simmons, KPMG Peat Marwick professor of accounting at the University of Florida, at the AICPA spring council meeting. The award includes a $5,000 check and a plaque.

Simmons, who has been at the university since 1974, was instrumental in establishing its school of accounting and served as the first director until his appointment as the KPMG Peat Marwick professor in 1977. He received an outstanding educator award from the Florida Institute of CPAs in 1989 and the Accounting Faculty Merit Award from the Federation of Schools of Accountancy in 1987.

Simmons is a past president of the American Accounting Association and the Federation of Schools of Accounting. He has been chairman or a member of numerous committees of the AICPA and the Florida State Society.
COPYRIGHT 1991 American Institute of CPA's
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1991, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:John K. Simmons
Publication:Journal of Accountancy
Date:Aug 1, 1991
Previous Article:Court widens net for 100% IRS penalty.
Next Article:AICPA awards three Carey scholarships.

Related Articles
POB grants McCloy award to Franklin.
AICPA names Needles Outstanding Accounting Educator.
Sampson receives POB's McCloy award.
AICPA to recognize industry CPA of the year.
Philip L. Defliese awarded POB McCloy award.
AICPA grants top honors to three.
AICPA to confer public service awards to individual and to firm.
AICPA, Missouri announce five winners of "Women to Watch" Award.
AICPA announces three outstanding CPAs in Government Award.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters