Printer Friendly

AFS announces new officers & directors, award winners for 107th Casting Congress. (Metalcasting Associations).

In anticipation of the 107th Casting Congress, April 26-29, Milwaukee, AFS has announced its new officers and directors for 2003-04 and the 2003 gold medal, scientific merit, service citation, Howard F. Taylor and Ray H. Witt award winners.

AFS officers: President--H. Arthur Edge, Jr., retired, American Cast Iron Pipe Co.; Vice President--Charles M. Kurtti, retired, Neenah Foundry Co.; 2nd Vice President--James L. Keffer, EBAA Iron Sales, Inc.; Immediate Past President--Paul B. Cervellero, Inductotherm Corp.

AFS Directors: New England Chapter (Group A) Region 1--Chris DeWitt, Fairmont Foundry; Central Michigan Chapter (Group E) Region 2-Judy Hurley, J. Brokerage, Inc.; Hawkeye Chapter (Group L) Region 4--Chris Misterek, John Deere Foundry.

AFS Directors-AT-Large: Donald H. Carpenter, U.S. Foundry & Manufacturing Co.; Robert J. Greason, Robcon Consulting Services, Inc.; Matthew W. Milam, Foundry Service Corp.

CMI Directors: James J. Archibald, Ashland Specialty Chemical Co.; Balthasar R. Weiss, Caterpillar, Inc.

2003 Award Winners: Thomas W. Pangbom Gold Medal--Ezra L. Kotzin, retired, AFS; Peter L. Simpson Gold Medal--Ray H. Witt, CMI Management Cervices, Inc.

Awards of Scientific Merit: George M. Goodrich, Professional Metallurgical Services; Thomas S. Piwonka, retired, The University of Alabama; Thomas Prucha, Intermet Corp.

AFS Service Citations: Nina V. Davi, retired, Pacific Steel Casting Co.; John V. Grabel, Caterpillar, Inc.; Frederick P. Schleg, retired, CMI; Alan K. Steffe, General Motors Powertrain; Joseph R. Ward, International Truck and Engine Corp.

Howard F. Taylor Award: "Process Modeling: Sand Core Blowing (02-141)," by Kenneth Williams and Dale Snider, Arena-Flow, L.L.C.,; Mike Walker, General Motors Corp.,; and Sheila Palczewski, General Motors Corp. Powertrain Div.

Ray H. Witt Award: "Applications of Austempered Cast Irons (02-084)," by Kathy Hayrynen, Kristin Brandenberg and John Keough, Applied Process, Inc.

At the 107th Congress, the new officers and directors will be inducted and the awards presented.
COPYRIGHT 2003 American Foundry Society, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Modern Casting
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Feb 1, 2003
Previous Article:SAE 2003 World Congress to feature 22 papers over two days of metalcasting sessions. (Metalcasting Associations).
Next Article:2001 metalcasting industry lost workday Injury, Illness rates released by U.S. Bureau of Labor. (Industry News: North America).

Related Articles
Five metalcasting executives earn foundry management awards from AFS.
Jones to retire as top AFS executive in 2000, search for replacement initiated by Special Committee.
2001 AWARDS.
2003 Award winners. (107th Casting Congress).
Do You Make a Difference? (2003 Charles Edgar Hoyt Memorial Lecture).
Edge takes the Rammer. (107th AFS Casting Congress).
AFS Gold Medal Awards. (107th AFS Casting Congress Milwaukee, Wisconsin).
AFS announces 2004 Taylor, Witt Award winners.
2004 award winners.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters