Printer Friendly

ACM President Elected to National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Patterson Honored for Distinguished Contribution in Computer Science Research

NEW YORK, April 27 /PRNewswire/ -- David Patterson, president of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), one of the highest honors in American science and engineering. The Academy's April 25 announcement recognizes honorees for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Patterson, professor of computer science at the University of California, Berkeley, is one of the few computer scientists to achieve this recognition. On the previous day, he was elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Patterson, who has served as president of ACM since 2004, joins the 72 new members and 18 foreign associates from 16 countries for the NAS 2006 class. The NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers established in 1863 to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The announcement by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences of the 2006 class includes 175 fellows and 20 foreign honorary members. Among the notables in this class are former Presidents George H.W. Bush and William Jefferson Clinton; Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts; and many leading scientists and scholars from across the nation. Founded in 1780 by John Adams and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation

About David Patterson

David Patterson is the founding director of a new research center on the Berkeley campus, the Reliable, Adaptive and Distributed Systems Laboratory (RAD Lab), which was announced in December 2005. RAD Lab will focus on the design of more dependable computing systems. It is underwritten by Google, Microsoft and Sun Microsystems.

During his tenure at ACM, Patterson has been a strong voice for increased funding of basic research and development from both public and private sources. He has also spoken out on the benefits to society of IT research, and the importance of improved educational instruction, increased scholarship opportunities, curriculum upgrades and teacher training and support for the nation's leadership in technology.

Patterson led the design and implementation of RISC I. This research became the foundation of the SPARC architecture, used by Sun Microsystems and others. He was a leader of the Redundant Arrays of Inexpensive Disks project (RAID), which led to reliable storage systems from many companies. Patterson has been chair of Berkeley's Computer Science and the Computing Research Association.

Patterson's teaching has been honored by the ACM, the IEEE, and the University of California. He shared the 1999 IEEE Reynold Johnson Information Storage Award with Randy Katz for the development of RAID. He also shared the 2000 IEEE von Neumann medal with John Hennessy for "creating a revolution in computer architecture through their exploration, popularization, and commercialization of architectural innovations."

He was appointed by President George W. Bush as a member of the President's Technology Advisory Committee (PTAC). He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and is a fellow of both the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is an educational and scientific society uniting the world's computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

CONTACT: Virginia Gold, +1-212-626-0505, or , for Association for Computing Machinery

Web site:
COPYRIGHT 2006 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:Apr 27, 2006
Previous Article:Former NASA Astronaut Robert L. Crippen Honored With Congressional Space Medal of Honor.
Next Article:One-time charge for machine shutdown affects Q1 results.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters