Printer Friendly

ACA Presents National Awards.

ACA announced the winners of several national awards at the ACA National Conference in Orlando. These individuals and groups were recognized for their contributions to the camp movement, their efforts to promote the camp experience, their service to others, and their dedication to excellence.

Distinguished Service Award

James "Pop" Hollandsworth was honored with the 2001 Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor afforded to members by the American Camping Association.

Pop Hollandsworth joined ACA in 1957 and has been an advocate of camp and ACA for forty-three years. He has served in a variety of leadership capacities at the section level and was instrumental in helping with the merger of the ACA Southeastern and ACA Florida sections. His energy around living the model of friends in camping exudes from the moment you meet him. Pop is truly a treasure chest of skill and commitment to the American Camping Association.

Hedley S. Dimock Award

William H. Shipp was honored with the Hedley S. Dimock Award, which is given to a person who contributes to the camp field through related fields, such as outdoor education, conservation, recreation, medicine, education, architecture, and the social sciences.

Bill Shipp was honored for his work with camp licensing in Michigan. As program manager for Michigan Camp Licensing, Bill plays a critical role in all aspects of camp licensing -- listening closely to camp professionals and state legislators, closely monitoring safety issues in camps, and interpreting law and applicability in hundreds of Michigan camps each year. His expertise makes him a valuable member of the ACA National Standards Board.

Special Recognition Award

The Special Recognition Award is given to honor groups, organizations, and individuals for their efforts to promote camp. This year, Robert H. Miner, Michele Friedman, Cathy Palmer, Dave Silverstein, and the Maine Youth Camping Association were recognized for their contributions.

Robert H. Miner

Robert H. Miner, executive director emeritus of Pinemere Camp Association in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was honored for his leadership in working with up-and-coming camp leaders. He has helped to place many people in pro-camping fields and mentor those who need aid. For more than fifty years, he has been active in the ACA Keystone Regional Section. He has aggressively sought out JCC and day camps for ACA membership.

Michele Friedman, CCD

Michele Friedman, director of Camelot Camps in Woodmere, New York, was recognized for her work to professionalize the field of camping through her involvement with the ACA New York Section and the Tri-State Camping Conference. She has worked to plan and implement state-of-the-art professional development opportunities, mentor fledgling camp directors, and position the camp industry as a leader in the youth development field.

Cathy Palmer

Cathy Palmer, director of camps and properties for the Manitou Girl Scout Council in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, was recognized for her energy and enthusiasm in promoting camping in the ACA Wisconsin Section. She is active in the Wisconsin Section and received the section's Acorn Award.

Dave Silverstein

Dave Silverstein, owner/director of Summer Trails Day Camp in River Vale, New Jersey, was honored for his work with ACA standards and ethics. Dave helped update the ethics code and created a system of penalties that responds to ethics violations. His leadership continues to allow the camping industry to look at what has been done and to forge future directions.

Maine Youth camping Association

The Maine Youth Camping Association was established in the 1920s, a time when children's camps in Maine expanded at a rate of two to three per year, to share wisdom and education with new camp directors. The organization has grown over the years and now provides education, legislative monitoring, and camp promotion to its members.

National Service Award

The National Service Award is given to recognize continued and increasing service beyond the section level. It is awarded to ACA members who have already received a section award and continue to give service to at least three sections or districts. This year's awards were presented to Karen Currie Allen, CCD, Bonnie Closey, and Carol Sudduth, CCD.

Karen Currie Allen, CCD

Karen Allen is the director of Hopewell Camp and Conference Center in Oxford, Mississippi. She is an active member of the ACA Heart of the South Section (previously the ACA Mid-South Section) and has held several positions on the section board. In 2000, she received the section's service award.

Bonnie Closey

Bonnie Closey has been an active member of the ACA Indiana Section, holding many section offices. During her tenure with the Girl Scouts, she has served as resident camp director, day and troop camp specialist, and trip director. She is a dedicated volunteer who has willingly given her time to the section.

Carol Sudduth, CCD

Carol Sudduth, owner/director of Wyonegonic Camps in Denmark, Maine, is an enthusiastic supporter of camp and the American Camping Association. She has served on the ACA National Board of Directors and also held offices in the ACA New England Section. In 1996, she received the ACA National Honor Award.

Eleanor P. Eells Award for Program Excellence

Eleanor P. Eells was a leader and an inspiration throughout her life. The awards for program excellence are designed to:

* motivate staff to develop effective, creative responses to the needs of people through camp.

* encourage the development of creative responses to societal problems through camp.

* stimulate the exchange of creative ideas with others.

* promote, in and out of camping, the positive contribution camp makes to the well-being of individuals and society.

* give recognition and honor to those whose programs exemplify these objects.

Five programs were recognized this year:

* Baltimore City 4-H Entrepreneurship Camp Program

* Camp Reunite, Clarksville, Ohio

* Farm Fun Day Camp, Maryland Cooperative Extension, Washington County

* Maryland State 4-H Team Challenge Camp

* Lisa Pettit Memorial Staff Mission Project, McCall RA Camp, South Carolina Baptist Convention

J. Wendell Howe Golden Quill and Lens Awards

The Golden Quill and Lens Awards offer camp professionals an opportunity to share their writing and photography talents with their peers and to promote the camp profession. The winners of this year's awards can be found on pages 42-43 in this issue of Camping Magazine.
COPYRIGHT 2001 American Camping Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:awards presented by the American Camping Association
Publication:Camping Magazine
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:May 1, 2001
Previous Article:Camping Magazine Seeks Advisory Board Members.
Next Article:Camp Photos Wanted.

Related Articles
American Camping Association 1993 Annual Report.
Camp boating programs; a survey.
Looking ahead by honoring the past.
A community of camp professionals ...
ACA Presents National Awards.
A View from the Woods.
A message from the President.
Leadership School provides advocacy opportunities.
Professional development calendar.
ACA presents national awards.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters