Printer Friendly

ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.

DAVE KEILITZ MATRICULATED at Central Michigan University in the fall of 1960 and stayed just long enough (34 years) to become CMU's first All-American baseball player (1964), head baseball coach (1970), MAC Coach of the Year four times, never to have a losing season, become Director of Athletics (1984), upgrade all of CMU's athletic facilities, win 26 MAC championships, and have every one of his coaches win Coach of the Year at least once!

Keilitz also served as a member of the NCAA Council from 1989 to 1992, and as a prime mover on several prestigious committees. He culminated his career by being inducted into the ABCA Hall of Fame in 1989, and being chosen Executive Director of the ABCA in 1994.

In his eight years as Executive Director, he produced significant rises in ABCA membership and annual-convention attendance.

Among his major legislation accomplishments have been: bracket expansion in all divisions, change-of-season legislation in Division I, ball and bat standards for college play, and changes in recruiting, practice, and playing rules.
COPYRIGHT 2001 Scholastic, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:American Baseball Coaches Association's David Keilitz
Publication:Coach and Athletic Director
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Nov 1, 2001
Previous Article:Meet the Next President.
Next Article:ABCA/Rawlings Player of the Year.

Related Articles
Message From the Prsident.
ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.
ABCA/Rawlings Player of the Year.
Message From the President: Are you ready for some baseball?
Meet the Next President.
ABCA/Rawlings Player of the Year.
Message from the president: go west for your baseball!
ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.
ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.
ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters