Printer Friendly

AACC award for outstanding contributions in education.

Mitchell G. Scott, PhD, FACB, DABCC, will receive the 30th annual award, sponsored by Quest Diagnostics Incorporated. Dr. Scott is Associate Professor in the Division of Laboratory Medicine, Department of Pathology and Immunology at Washington University School of Medicine, and Associate Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, St. Louis, Missouri. A medical technologist at Barnes Hospital for 3 years prior to attending graduate school, Dr. Scott received his PhD in Immunology from Washington University in 1982, and then was a postdoctoral fellow in Clinical Chemistry at Washington University. He joined Mallinckrodt, Inc. as Research Manager of Hybridoma Sciences in 1984 and returned to Washington University as a faculty member in 1987.


A member of AACC since 1982, Dr. Scott has served AACC in a number of capacities at the local and national levels. He was a member (1990-1995) and Chair (1992-1995) of the Membership Committee and a member of the Commission on Professional and Membership Affairs (1992-1995). He served on the Task Force on Training Clinical Chemists (1992), the Task Force on Governance Structure (1997), the Nominating Committee (1996-1997), and the Oak Ridge Organizing Committee (1995-2000). He currently is a member of the Meetings Management Group and the Program Coordinating Commission, and is Chair of the Divisions Management Group. Locally he served as Midwest Section Program Chair (1989), Secretary (1993-1995), and Chair (1996). He has served on the Editorial Board of Clinical Chemistry since 1997 and currently is Reviews Co-Editor. Outside of AACC, he is Secretary/ Treasurer of the Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry (COMACC) and President of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry (ABCC). He also is a member of the American Association of Immunologists, the Clinical Immunology Society, and the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists.

Dr. Scott is co-director of the clinical chemistry postdoctoral training program at Washington University and since 1987 has had a major role in training 33 postdoctoral fellows and 65 pathology residents in clinical chemistry. His proudest accomplishments are that more than 95% of the fellows and residents he has helped train are active, productive members of our profession and that he has had a role in continuing the strong tradition of laboratory medicine education at Washington University. He spends considerable effort recruiting young scientists who are basic science graduates to the training program at Washington University as well as to other training programs around the nation. His roles with COMACC and ABCC have also had an impact on the focus and direction of clinical laboratory scientist training. His research has focused on antibody variable region gene expression to carbohydrate antigens and on the utility and interpretation of a variety of clinical biochemical testing methods and approaches. Together with many collaborators, he has authored 68 original scientific papers, 22 reviews or textbook chapters, and 62 abstracts in the basic and clinical sciences.

Compiled by David E. Bruns, Editor (
COPYRIGHT 2000 American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2000 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:AACC Award Winners, 2000
Author:Bruns, David E.
Publication:Clinical Chemistry
Date:Jul 1, 2000
Previous Article:AACC award for outstanding contributions through service to the profession of clinical chemistry.
Next Article:AACC award for outstanding contributions to clinical chemistry in a selected area of research.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters