Printer Friendly

AACC audioconferences.

AACC offers a series of four audioconferences, "New Approaches to Point-of-Care Testing" (POCT), in January and February, 1997. Funded by the AACC's philanthropic arm, the Van Slyke Society, the series is made possible by a grant from i-STAT Corporation.

The POCT audioconference series is based on AACC's highest-rated conference of 1996: "Taking Charge of Point-of-Care Testing." Topics and dates for the series are: Expanding and optimizing your POCT program: January 7, 1997; POCT vs rapid test response: January 28, 1997; Economics and outcomes of POCT: February 11, 1997; and POCT regulations and inspection: February 25, 1997.

Paula Santrach, MD, Co-Director of Hospital Clinical Laboratories and Consultant, Transfusion Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, will conduct the January 7 session. Petrie Rainey, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Laboratory Medicine, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut, will lead the January 28 session. The Economics & Outcomes of POCT will be conducted on February 11 by K. Michael Parker, PhD. Sharon Ehrmeyer, PhD, Director of the Medical Technology Program, and Ronald Laessig, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, both at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin, will talk on POCT Regulations & Inspections.

Extended question and answer periods will follow each session. Each site will receive a set of slides and a hard copy of each presentation and reference materials.

The charge for all four POCT audioconferences is $299. Individual topic POCT audioconferences are $89 per site. A late charge of $26 will be applied to all POCT registrations received less than 7 business days prior to the program(s). To register, contact the AACC Meetings Department at 202-857-0717 or 800-892-1400 ext. 732 (phone) or 202-887-5093 (fax).

Compiled by David E. Bruns, Editor
COPYRIGHT 1997 American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1997 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:The Clinical Chemist
Author:Bruns, David E.
Publication:Clinical Chemistry
Date:Jan 1, 1997
Previous Article:New editorial board members.
Next Article:Clinical Laboratory Strategies.

Related Articles
AAAC honors nine scientists.
AACC Award for Outstanding Contributions in Education, sponsored by Quest Diagnostics Hospital Services.
AACC Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research, sponsored by Olympus America Inc. Diagnostic Systems...
A tribute to Elizabeth K. Smith (1917-1997).
Royden N. Rand (1926-2002).
Morton K. Schwartz Award for Significant Contributions in Cancer Research Diagnostics.
"Citation classics in Clinical Chemistry": contributions by AACC members duly noted.
The AACC celebrates its 50th anniversary: excerpt from an article in the history division newsletter-prepared by Nathan Radin with input from Samuel...
Joseph I. Routh.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters