Printer Friendly


 /ADVANCE/ SAN FRANCISCO, Nov. 11 /PRNewswire/ -- The American

Association of Blood Banks (AABB) honored Harvey J. Alter, M.D.; Daniel W. Bradley, Ph.D.; Qui-Lim Choo, Ph.D.; Michael Houghton, Ph.D.; George C. Kuo, Ph.D.; and Lacy R. Overby, Ph.D., with the 1992 Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award today in San Francisco. The award was presented by AABB President E. Shannon Cooper, M.D.
 The recipients of the 1992 Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award were honored for recognizing the clinical implications of posttransfusion non-A, non-B hepatitis, physiochemically characterizing an agent not yet visualized, developing a novel approach to the molecular cloning and characterization of the genome of the causative agents, the hepatitis C virus, and expressing virus-specific proteins that formed the basis for the first hepatitis C antibody test. This extraordinary body of work may serve as a generic model for characterizing other unidentified causative agents of human disease.
 The Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award was created in 1954 to honor an individual or individuals who are internationally known for contributions to immunohematology, transfusion medicine or a related field. The award memorializes Karl Landsteiner, M.D., the discoverer of blood groups, whose lifetime research laid the foundation for modern blood transfusion therapy. The 1992 Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award is sponsored by Ortho Diagnostic Systems.
 Alter currently serves as chief of the immunology section of the department of transfusion medicine, Warren G. Magnuson Clinical Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md. Alter received his medical degree in 1960 from the University of Rochester, Rochester, N.Y., and subsequently trained in internal medicine at Strong Memorial Hospital and at the University Hospitals in Seattle. Alter has been the recipient of many awards, among them the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (DHEW) Superior Service Award in 1974 and Distinguished Service Medal in 1979, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Directors Award, the highest award conferred by NIH, in 1986, and the AABB Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship in 1987.
 Bradley is chief of the hepatitis viruses section, Division of Viral and Rickettsial Diseases, Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control, Atlanta. In his current position, Bradley directs and manages laboratory research in the area of non-A, non-B viral hepatitis. Bradley has trained foreign and domestic scientists in selected aspects of viral hepatitis, presented invited lectures at domestic and international meetings and symposia and participated in the US-USSR Bilateral Science Agreement in Viral Hepatitis and Influenza. Bradley received his Ph.D. in biochemistry in 1971 from the University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.
 Choo is a senior scientist with Chiron Corporation, Emeryville, Calif. Choo's scientific career has focused on applying molecular biological approaches to medical problems. A native of Singapore, he received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from King's college, University of London, England, in 1980, and furthered his research training at the University of California, San Francisco. Choo joined Chiron Corporation in 1982, and since 1984 has been actively investigating the agents causing non-A, non-B hepatitis, culminating in the successful cloning of the hepatitis D virus in 1986 and the hepatitis C virus one year later.
 Houghton is a director of non-A, non-B hepatitis research for Chiron Corporation, Emeryville. Houghton received his Ph.D. in biochemistry in 1976 from King's College, University of London, England. Before joining Chiron Corporation in 1982, Houghton served as senior research investigator of human interferon genetics for Searle Research Laboratories in Buckinghamshire, England.
 Kuo is director of immunochemistry for Chiron Corporation, Emeryville. A native of Taiwan, Kuo received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in 1972, and furthered his research training at Yale University. In 1981, Kuo joined Chiron Corporation as a senior scientist, and was appointed to his current position as director of immunochemistry in 1988. In 1990, Kuo was honored by the Clinical Ligand Assay Society with the DuPont Specialty Diagnostic Award.
 Overby is former vice president of diagnostic operations for Chiron Corporation, Emeryville. Overby is currently an executive consultant for biotechnology and medical diagnostics industries. In 1951, Overby received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn. He was employed by Abbott Laboratories from 1949 to 1983, where he held various pharmaceutical research positions and directed research in the fields of biochemistry, infectious diseases, cancer, cell biology and immunobiology, and was instrumental in founding the Abbott Diagnostics Division in 1972.
 Established in 1947, the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) is the professional society for approximately 2,400 community, regional and Red Cross blood centers, hospital-based blood banks and transfusion services and over 8,800 individuals engaged in blood banking and transfusion medicine. The AABB sets standards, inspects and accredits blood collection and transfusion facilities and provides continuing education and information. Its member facilities are responsible for collecting virtually all of the nation's blood supply and for transfusing more than 80 percent of the blood used for patient care in the United States.
 -0- 11/11/92/1700
 /CONTACT: Marcia Lane of the American Association of Blood Banks, 415-978-3503 or -3504, 301-907-6977, or 24 hours, 202-389-1933/ CO: American Association of Blood Banks ST: California IN: HEA SU:

KD -- DC005 -- 9649 11/11/92 10:07 EST
COPYRIGHT 1992 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1992 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:Nov 11, 1992

Related Articles
Supreme Court of New Jersey to AABB: 'You're guilty and that's final.' (American Association of Blood Banks)
Immucor Scientists Receive National Honors For Innovative Research and Development.
History of procedure.
Mail Box: Just Ask; If there is a question bothering you, write to me at the address above and I will try to help. But, sorry, I cannot reply...
AABB-Accredited Cord Blood Banks Prepare for Implementation of New Standards and Regulations.
Give blood.
Blood appeal.
Dr. Lawrence Petz, Chief Medical Officer at StemCyte(R), Inc., Receives Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters