Printer Friendly

AAAI Congratulates the Winners of the 2018 ACM Turing Award!

ACM recently named Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton, and Yann LeCun recipients of the 2018 ACM A.M. Turing Award for conceptual and engineering breakthroughs that have made deep neural networks a critical component of computing. Working independently and together, Hinton, LeCun and Bengio developed conceptual foundations for the field, identified surprising phenomena through experiments, and contributed engineering advances that demonstrated the practical advantages of deep neural networks. In recent years, deep learning methods have been responsible for astonishing breakthroughs in computer vision, speech recognition, natural language processing, and robotics--among other applications.

Geoffrey Hinton, who is an AAAI Fellow, is vice president and engineering fellow of Google, chief scientific adviser of The Vector Institute and a university professor emeritus at the University of Toronto. Hinton received a Bachelor's degree in experimental psychology from Cambridge University and a Doctoral degree in artificial intelligence from the University of Edinburgh. He was the founding director of the Neural Computation and Adaptive Perception (later Learning in Machines and Brains) program at CIFAR.

Hinton's honors include Companion of the Order of Canada (Canada's highest honor), Fellow of the Royal Society (UK), foreign member of the National Academy of Engineering (US), the International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence (IJCAI) Award for Research Excellence, the NSERC Herzberg Gold medal, and the IEEE James Clerk Maxwell Gold medal. He was also selected by Wired magazine for The Wired 100--2016's Most Influential People and by Bloomberg for the 50 people who changed the landscape of global business in 2017.

Yoshua Bengio is a professor at the University of Montreal, and the scientific director of both Mila (Quebec's Artificial Intelligence Institute) and IVADO (the Institute for Data Valorization). He is a codirector (with Yann LeCun) of CIFAR's Learning in Machines and Brains program. Bengio received a Bachelor's degree in electrical engineering, a Master's degree in computer science and a Doctoral degree in computer science from McGill University.

Bengio's honors include being named an Officer of the Order of Canada, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Marie-Victorin Prize. His work in founding and serving as scientific director of the Quebec Artificial Intelligence Institute (Mila) is also recognized as a major contribution to the field. Mila, an independent nonprofit organization, now counts 300 researchers and 35 faculty members among its ranks. It is the largest academic center for deep learning research in the world, and has helped put Montreal on the map as a vibrant AI ecosystem, with research labs from major companies as well as AI startups.

Yann LeCun is Silver Professor of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University, and VP and Chief AI Scientist at Facebook. He received a Diplome d'Ingenieur from the Ecole Superieure d'Ingenieur en Electrotechnique et Electronique (ESIEE), and a PhD in computer science from Universita Pierre et Marie Curie.

His honors include being a member of the US National Academy of Engineering; Doctorates Honoris Causa, from IPN Mexico and Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL); the Pender Award, University of Pennsylvania; the Hoist Medal, Technical University of Eindhoven & Philips Labs; the Nokia-Bell Labs Shannon Luminary Award; the IEEE PAMI Distinguished Researcher Award; and the IEEE Neural Network Pioneer Award. He was also selected by Wired magazine for The Wired 100--2016's Most Influential People and its 25 Geniuses Who are Creating the Future of Business. LeCun was the founding director of the NYU Center of Data Science, and is a codirector (with Yoshua Bengio) of CIFAR's Learning in Machines and Brains program. LeCun is also a cofounder and former member of the Board of the Partnership on AI, a group of companies and nonprofits studying the societal consequences of AI.

The ACM A.M. Turing Award, often referred to as the Nobel Prize of Computing, carries a $1 million prize, with financial support provided by Google, Inc. It is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician and computer scientist, who made fundamental advances in computer architecture, algorithms, formalization of computing, and artificial intelligence. Turing was also a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the Enigma cipher during World War II.

ACM presented the 2018 A.M. Turing Award at its annual Awards Banquet on June 15 in San Francisco, California.
COPYRIGHT 2019 American Association for Artificial Intelligence
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:AAAI News: Summer News from the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence; Association for Computing Machinery's Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton, and Yann LeCun
Publication:AI Magazine
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jun 22, 2019
Previous Article:AAAI/EAAI Outstanding Educator Award.
Next Article:Henry Kautz to Receive the ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters