Printer Friendly

AAAC honors nine scientists.

The American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) honored nine scientists for their outstanding achievements on July 29, at its annual awards ceremony during the AACC/CSCC Annual Meeting & Clinical Laboratory Exposition in Chicago.

W. French Anderson, MD -- The AACC Lectureship Award, which recognizes an individual whose efforts have had a profound effect on the field of clinical chemistry, was given to W. French Anderson, MD. Dr. Anderson is director of the gene therapy laboratories and professor of biochemistry and pediatrics at the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine in Los Angeles. Dr. Anderson headed the team that performed the first human gene therapy treatment in 1990. His lecture at the plenary session of the AACC Annual Meeting was titled, "Human Gene Therapy: The Promise and Pitfalls."

Peter Wilding, PhD -- The 2001 recipient of the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry was Peter Wilding, PhD. Wilding is professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and director of clinical chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center in Philadelphia. His recent research has concentrated on the development of methods for detecting malignancy and the creation of a new technology involving microfabricated devices called "microchips" for clinical analyses, which has resulted in a series of patents.

Stephen E. Kahn, PhD -- Kahn was awarded the AACC Award for Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry. He is professor of pathology, cell biology. neurobiology, and anatomy; associate director of clinical laboratories; section chief and director of chemistry, toxicology, and near-patient testing; and director of core laboratory operations at Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, IL. An AACC member since 1979, Kahn has served the association at both the national and local levels, including as president during the AACC's 50th anniversary year in 1998.

Lawrence M. Silverman, MD -- Silverman won the AACC Award for Outstanding Contributions in Education. He is director of the division for molecular pathology, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, and professor of genetics and molecular biology at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine in Chapel Hill. He is also the director of the molecular genetics laboratory and associate director of the clinical chemistry laboratories of the University of North Carolina Hospitals and director of the American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG) postdoctoral training program in clinical molecular genetics. In addition to training 12 clinical molecular genetic fellows as director of the ABMG training program, Silverman has had a major role in training 14 fellows during his 15-year tenure as director and co-director of the clinical chemistry postdoctoral fellowship program at the University of North Carolina.

James L. Wittliff, PhD -- The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research was awarded to Wittliff, director of the hormone receptor laboratory at the James Graham Brown Center and professor of biochemistry at the University of Louisville in Kentucky. He and his research team are internationally recognized for innovative studies of the molecular mechanisms by which estrogens promote signal transduction in normal tissue and breast cancer. He and his research fellows have published several hundred scientific papers and book chapters on both basic and clinical aspects of steroid and peptide hormone receptors.

Lynn Bry, MD, PhD -- Bry, who was awarded the 2001 Young Investigator Award, is a clinical fellow in pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital at Harvard Medical School in Boston. She founded the MadSci network, a web-based ask-a-scientist service (

Bernard Gouget, MD -- Gouget received the AACC International Travel Fellowship, which enables recognized clinical chemists to promote the practice and profession of clinical chemists to promote the practice and profession of clinical chemistry abroad. Gouget is the medical expertise coordinator of the French Hospital Federation and assistant professor of medical physiology at the University of Paris. Gouget is active in the promotion of Ibero-American activities and in contributing to professional advancement in Latin America. He plans to use this award to expand his network of contacts into new territories through participation in congresses and workshops in India, Eastern Europe, and Mediterranean countries.

Michel G. Bergeron, MD -- The Sigi Ziering Award for an Outstanding Contribution for a Publication in the Journal of Clinical Chemistry went to Bergeron for a paper on the development of rapid assays using the polymerase chain reaction technique for the detection of strep bacteria.

Frank A. Sedor, PhD -- The 2001 Fast President's Award was presented to Frank A. Sedor, PhD, administrative director of the core, blood gas, and clinical pediatric laboratories as well as director for clinical chemistry, therapeutic drug monitoring, and toxicology services at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, NC.
COPYRIGHT 2001 Nelson Publishing
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:American Association for Clinical Chemistry
Publication:Medical Laboratory Observer
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Sep 1, 2001
Previous Article:Smoking associated with increased risk of multiple sclerosis.
Next Article:MDS Laboratories awards national contract to AML.

Related Articles
EntreMed scientists report potent antiangiogenic effects in preclinical studies of recombinant human Endostatin and Angiostatin protein at the...
Toot your horn in celebration of National Medical Laboratory Week!
Rubber Division offers awards. (Meetings).
Seven associations have been honored with an Award of Excellence in the second round of judging in the 2003 Associations Advance America Awards...
Summit Award winners honored.
UO scientist wins international award.
AACC honors 12 scientists.
A prescription for success: finding career opportunities in the pharmaceutical industry.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters