Printer Friendly

A warning from 100 Nobel prize winners.

The most profound danger to world peace in the coming years will stem not from the irrational acts of states or individuals but from the legitimate demands of the world's dispossessed. Of these poor and disenfranchised, the majority live a marginal existence in equatorial climates. Global warming, not of their making but originating with the wealthy few, will affect their fragile ecologies most. Their situation will be desperate and manifestly unjust.

It cannot be expected, therefore, that in all cases they will be content to await the beneficence of the rich. If then we permit the devastating power of modern weaponry to spread through this combustible human landscape, we invite a conflagration that can engulf both rich and poor. The only hope for the future lies in cooperative international action, legitimized by democracy.

It is time to turn our backs on the unilateral search for security, in which we seek shelter behind walls. Instead, we must persist in the quest for united action to counter both global warming and a weaponized world.

These twin goals will constitute vital components of stability as we move toward the wider degree of social justice that alone gives hope of peace.

Some of the needed legal instruments are already at hand, such as the Anti-Ballistic Missile Treaty, the Convention on Climate Change, the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaties, and the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty. As concerned citizens, we urge all governments to commit to these goals that constitute steps on the way to replacement of war by law.

Joseph E. Stiglitz, Nobel laureate, economics, 2001

Herbert Kroemer, Nobel laureate, physics, 2000

Guenter Blobel, Nobel laureate, physiology/medicine, 1999

Horst L. Stormer, Nobel laureate, physics, 1998

Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Nobel laureate, physics, 1997

Peter C. Doherty, Nobel laureate, physiology/medicine, 1996

Paul J. Crutzen, Nobel laureate, chemistry, 1995

Bertram N. Brockhouse, Nobel laureate, physics, 1994

Joseph H. Taylor, Nobel laureate, physics, 1993

Edmond H. Fischer, Nobel laureate, physiology/medicine, 1992

Richard R. Ernst, Nobel laureate, chemistry, 1991

Mikhail S. Gorbachev, Nobel laureate, peace, 1990

His Holiness The Dalai Lama, Nobel laureate, peace, 1989

Robert Huber, Nobel laureate, chemistry, 1988

Oscar Arias Sanchez, Nobel laureate, peace, 1987

Dudley R. Herschbach, Nobel laureate, chemistry, 1986

Klaus von Klitzing, Nobel laureate, physics, 1985

And 85 other Nobel prize winners including recipients from every year between 1972 and 2001. The statement was issued at the Nobel Peace Prize Centennial Symposium on the 100th anniversary of the Nobel prize, in Oslo, Norway.
COPYRIGHT 2002 Worldwatch Institute
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:need to address global warming, weaponized world
Publication:World Watch
Article Type:Brief Article
Date:May 1, 2002
Previous Article:Fit for Public Consumption. (Matters of Scale).
Next Article:Revisiting the canary in the coal mine. (Note from a World Watcher).

Related Articles
Clearing the haze.
Climate Scientists Advise White Rouse on Global Warming.
Nobel prizes mark 100th anniversary.
Revisiting the canary in the coal mine. (Note from a World Watcher).
Weather forecast: doom: in the 1970s, both the media and climatologists sounded the alarm about catastrophic climate change. But they imagined a very...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters