Printer Friendly

46TM North American moose conference and workshop Jackson, Wyoming 23-26 May 2011.

The 46'h North American Moose Conference and Workshop was held at the Virginian Lodge in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, on 23-26 May 2011. The conference was hosted by the Moose Working Group of the Wyoming Game and Fish Department, with extensive help from the Wyoming Chapter of The Wildlife Society and the Teton Science School. There were 100 registered delegates from throughout North America (13 states and 6 Canadian provinces), as well as Germany, Norway, and Sweden. Their broad experience resulted in vigorous discussions about moose research, management, and biology. Due to an extremely wet May and flooding across several states, travel to and from Jackson was an adventure for several participants.

Welcoming remarks were provided by Dr. Fred Lindzey, Chairman of the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission and Professor Emerims, University of Wyoming. Contributed presentations followed, covering a broad range of topics including harvest, productivity of populations, parasites, and climate change.

A public plenary session entitled "Managing Predator-Prey Systems" was held Tuesday evening at the National Museum of Wildlife Art, and was preceded by an open tour of the museum for conference attendees. Invited speakers were three outstanding large predator ecology specialists, Mike Jimenez (USFWS), Dr. Bob Garrott (Montana State University-Bozeman), and Rod Boertje (Alaska Department of Fish and Game), who discussed the USFWS wolf reintroduction program in the Yellowstone region, specific research on wolf-elk/bison interactions in Yellowstone, and Alaskan wolf/bear-prey systems, respectively. Their informative presentations provided a strong scientific foundation for subsequent public discussion focused on predator management issues and balancing the new and dynamic large predator-prey systems in the greater Yellowstone area.

Wednesday featured an educational and sight-seeing field trip north of Jackson where participants viewed winter moose range in Grand Teton National Park and the willow flats behind the beautiful, historic Jackson Lake Lodge; some wondered why we weren't staying at the Lodge. A barbeque lunch was provided on the north shore of Lake Jackson at the University of Wyoming-NPS Research Center's AMK Ranch in Grand Teton National Park. The Center sits at the base of the Teton Range and offered participants breath-taking views of the Tetons and ice breaking up on Jackson Lake. After lunch, Dr. Hank Harlow, Director of the Center and noted ecophysiologist at the University of Wyoming, gave a short history about the Ranch and related research. Dr. Terry Kreeger (WGFD), renowned expert, followed with an informative workshop on chemical immobilization of wildlife. Moose, elk, and bison were observed at several locations on this field trip that marked the start of beautiful local weather.

The Banquet was held Wednesday evening when Amanda McGraw, recent M.S. graduate of the University of Minnesota, received the Newcomer Award, and Bill Samuel, of winter tick fame and long-time conference attendee and recently retired from the University of Alberta, received the Senior Travel Award. The members of the Organizing Committee received the Order of Alces with kind and insightful words from Dr. Pete Pekins, Chief Editor ALCES. The highlight of the evening was when Dr. Kjell Danell of Sweden graciously received the 2011 Distinguished Moose Biologist Award for his many contributions in research and management of moose. The evening ended with live music provided by the Jared Rogerson Band; during the day, Jared is a biologist with the WGFD.

This highly diverse Conference featured 3 plenary presentations, 22 contributed presentations, 5 posters, a capstone lecture, and field trip. We are grateful to our sponsors including (in alphabetical order)Advance Telemetry Systems (ATS), Hayden-Wing Associates, Jackson Hole Outfitters and Guides Association, Jackson Hole Wildlife Foundation, Lotek Wireless, National Museum of Wildlife Art, Nature Mapping, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, Teton Science School, Vectronic Aerospace, Virginian Lodge, Western EcoSystems Technology (WEST), Wildlife Heritage Foundation of Wyoming, The Wildlife Society-Wyoming

1963--St. Paul, Minnesota

1964--St. Paul, Minnesota

1966--Winnipeg, Manitoba

1967--Edmonton, Alberta

1968--Kenai, Alaska

1970--Kamloops, British Columbia

1971--Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

8th     1972--Thunder Bay, Ontario

9th     1973--Quebec City, Quebec,
              in conjunction with the
              1st International Moose

10th    1974--Duluth, Minnesota

11th    1975--Winnipeg, Manitoba

12th    1976--St. John's, Newfoundland

13th    1977--Jasper, Alberta

14th    1978--Halifax, Nova Scotia

15th    1979--Soldotna--Kenai, Alaska

16th    1980--Prince Albert, Saskatchewa

17th    1981--Thunder Bay, Ontario

18th    1982--Whitehorse, Yukon Territor,

19th    1983--Prince George, British

20th    1984--Quebec City, Quebec

        1984--Uppsala, Sweden,
              2nd International Moose

21st    1985--Jackson Hole, Wyoming

22nd    1986--Fredericton, New Brunswick

23rd    1987--Duluth, Minnesota

24th    1988--Winnipeg, Manitoba

25th    1989--St. John's, Newfoundland

26th    1990--Regina and Ft. Qu'Apelle,

        1990--Syktyvkar, Russia,
              3rd International Moose

27th    1991--Anchorage and Denali National
              Park, Alaska

28th    1992--Algonquin Park, Ontario

29th    1993--Bretton Woods,
              New Hampshire

30th    1994--Idaho Falls, Idaho

31st    1995--Fundy National Park,
              New Brunswick

32nd    1996--Banff National Park, Alberta

33rd    1997--Fairbanks, Alaska,
              in conjunction with the
              411 International Moose

34th    1998--Quebec City, Quebec

35th    1999--Grand Portage, Minnesota

36th    2000--Whitehorse, Yukon Territory

37th    2001--Carrabassett Valley, Maine

38th    2002--Hafjell, Norway, in conjunction
              with the 511 International Moose

39th    2003--Jackson Hole, Wyoming

40th    2004--Corner Brook, Newfoundland
              and Labrador

41st    2005--Whitefish, Montana

42nd    2006--Baddeck, Nova Scotia

43rd    2007--Prince George, British

        2008--Yakutsk, Russia,
              6th International Moose

44th    2009--Pocatello, Idaho

45th    2010--International Falls, Minnesota

46th    2011--Jackson Hole, Wyoming


        2012--Bialowieza, Poland,
              7th International Moose

47      2013--New Hampshire
COPYRIGHT 2012 Alces
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Article Type:Conference notes
Geographic Code:1U8WY
Date:Jan 1, 2012
Previous Article:Perceptions of moose-human conflicts in an urban environment.
Next Article:Kjell Danell: Distinguished Moose Biologist--2011 recipient.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters