Printer Friendly

30 Communities Named All-America City Finalists.

The National Civic League and Allstate Insurance Company announced the 30 finalist communities (see list) in the 1999 All-America City Awards competition. Now in its 50th year, the program annually honors ten communities annually for excellence in grassroots problem-solving. Ninety-three communities from 32 states submitted applications in this year's competition.

Teams of local elected officials, community activists, and business leaders from the 30 communities will travel to Philadelphia, June 2426 to the All-America City Awards meeting to present their success stories before the awards jury. The ten winning communities will be announced at the conclusion of the meeting on June 26. Winning communities must demonstrate high levels of citizen participation, collaborative decision-making, and community leadership in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors.

"The individual achievements of these 30 finalist cities demonstrate the measurable success that can be achieved when a community's citizens join together to address today's critical issues," said National Civic League president Christopher Gates. "Their accomplishments serve as an inspiration to other communities across America that may be facing similar challenges."

The All-America City Award competition is the nation's oldest civic recognition program. Since its inception in 1949, more than 4,000 communities have competed and more than 400 communities have been named an All-America City.

Founded in 1894, the National Civic League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization whose mission is to strengthen citizen democracy. In addition to the All-America City Award, the league operates programs devoted to community problem solving, new politics, healthy communities, and community renewal. Allstate, one of the nation's largest publicly held insurance companies, has supported the awards program for the past eleven years.

Details: or David Rein, (303) 571-4343.

All-America City Finalists
Safford, Ariz.
Scottsdale, Ariz.
Fresno, Calif.
Napa, Calif.
Santa Clarita, Calif.
Stockton, Calif.
Union City, Calif.
Lower Naugatuck Valley,
Tallahassee, Fla.
Joliet, Ill.
Oak Park, Ill.
Wellington, Kan.
Wichita, Kan.
Shreveport, La.
Greater Montgomery County,
Lowell, Mass.
Worcester, Mass.
Brooklyn Park, Minn.
Moorhead, Minn.
Tupelo, Miss.
Hickory, N.C.
Morganton, N.C.
Rocky Mount, N.C.
Lancaster, Pa.
Memphis, Tenn.
Bristol/Johnson City/
Kingsport, Tenn./Va.
Bryan, Tex.
Pearland, Tex.
Taylor, Tex.
Greater Green Bay, Wis.
COPYRIGHT 1999 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1999 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Date:Apr 26, 1999
Previous Article:Fort Wayne, Creates Rental Housing Panel.
Next Article:Score One for Local Authority.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters