Printer Friendly

289 new soldiers to be deployed in Eastern Visayas.

Eastern Visayas has 289 new soldiers.

On Wednesday, they took their oath as members of the 8th Infantry Division, whose headquarter is based in Catbalogan City, Samar.

They are to be deployed among the division's three brigades, consisting of 11 battalions after they finished their armed combat training.

Major General Raul Farnacio, the commanding general of the division, expected the new soldiers to strictly follow their sworn duties.

'As the division commander, I expect you to be high-level disciplined soldiers, of full standing, courageous, and faithful to the duty that you have sworn,' he said during the ceremony at the grounds of the 8th ID headquarters.

Eastern Visayas, composed of the provinces of Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran, Western Samar, Eastern Samar, and Northern Samar, continues to be beset with the presence of rebels.

Army troops and New People's Army guerrillas have engaged in armed clashes that resulted in deaths from both sides.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Philippines Daily Inquirer (Makati City, Philippines)
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:Jun 6, 2019
Previous Article:Suspected drug pusher dead in Laguna.
Next Article:Archbishop Villegas denies 'Bikoy' claim he met with plotters vs gov't.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters