Printer Friendly

28 ex-solons making a comeback.

By Charissa Luci-Atienza

More than 25 former lawmakers are returning to the House of Representatives to take over the seats that will be vacated by their parents, spouses, siblings, children and grandchildren.

Outgoing Talisay City Mayor Eduardo Gullas Sr., who won as first district representative of Cebu, will replace his grandson, incumbent first district Rep. Gerald Anthony Gullas who won as Talisay mayor. The older Gullas, who is turning 89 on Oct. 13, represented the first district of Cebu from 1992 to 2001, and 2004 to 2013. He also served as a Cebu governor.

Former Rep. Manuel "Way Kurat" Zamora will replace her daughter, Compostela Valley first district congressman Maria Carmen Zamora. Way Kurat was the district representative in 2001, and was reelected in 2004 and 2007.

Incumbent Quirino governor Junie Cua, father of incumbent Rep. Dakila Carlo Cua, also had a successful House comeback bid. He served as Quirino representative in the 9th, 10th and 12th Congress.

Outgoing Northern Samar governor Paul Daza, outgoing Samar governor Sharee Ann Tan-de los Santos and Juan Miguel "Mikey" Arroyo are also replacing their parents in the 18th Congress.

Daza is the son of incumbent Northern Samar Rep. Raul Daza. He won in the 2010 congressional derby, representing the first legislative district of Northern Samar.

Tan-de los Santos will replace her mother, incumbent Samar Rep. Milagros Tan. She won as representative of Samar's second district in 2007, the youngest member of Congress at that time.

Mikey Arroyo will replace her mother, Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo as Pampanga's second district representative. After serving as Pampanga representative from 2004 to 2010, he became the representative for Ang Galing Pinoy party-list from 2010 to 2013. Former House members --Rufus Rodriguez, Mark Enverga, Pablo John Garcia, Romeo Jalosjos Jr., Vincent J. Garcia, Isidro Ungab will occupy the House seats left by their siblings.

Rodriguez will replace his younger brother, incumbent Cagayan de Oro Rep. Maximo Rodriguez Jr. Enverga is the older brother of incumbent Quezon Rep. Anna Kathrina Enverga.

PJ Garcia reclaimed the Cebu third district seat, replacing his sister, outgoing Deputy Speaker and Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia. He was representative of that district from 2007 to 2013.

Romeo Jalosjos Jr. will replace his brother, incumbent Zamboanga del Norte first district Rep. Seth Frederick Jalosjos. He won as Zamboanga Sibugay representative in 2010

Vincent J. Garcia, who served as first district representative of Davao City from 2001 to 2010, will replace his sister, incumbent Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano.

Ungab also had a successful comeback as Davao city's third district representative, replacing his brother, Davao City Rep. Alberto T. Ungab. He served as congressman from 2007 to 2016.

Ma. Lourdes Arroyo-Lesaca, sister-in-law of House Speaker Arroyo, won Negros Occidental's congressional derby. Arroyo-Lesaca, wife of musician John Lesaca, was Kasangga partylist representative from 2007 to 2010.

Spouses of incumbent House members also dominated the congressional races.

Philippine Constitution Association (Philconsa) president and former Leyte Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romuladez, former Cavite Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr., Mandaluyong City Rep. Boyet Gonzales, former Antipolo Rep. Robbie Puno, and Narciso "Bong" Bravo Jr. will take over the seats vacated by their wives.

Romualdez is the husband of incumbent Leyte Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez. Barzaga is husband of incumbent Cavite Rep. Jennifer Austria-Barzaga. Gonzales is the husband of incumbent Mandaluyong Rep. Alexandria Gonzales. Puno is the husband of incumbent Antipolo first dirstrict Rep. Roa Cristina "Chiqui" Puno. Bravo is the husband of first district Masbate Rep. Maria Vida Espinosa Bravo.

Former Health Secretary Janette Garin, and former Quezon Rep. Aleta Suarez will replace their husbands, incumbent Iloilo Rep. Oscar Richard Garin Jr., and House Minority Leader and Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez, respectively.

Also included in the list of returning congressmen were Solomon Chungalao, Teodorico Haresco Jr., former Aklan representative from 2013 to 2016, and former Kasangga partylist representative; outgoing Cavite governor Jesus Crispin "Boying" Remulla, outgoing Sta Rosa City, Laguna Mayor Dan Fernandez, former Pasig City Rep. Roman Romulo, Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano and former ARMM Governor Mujiv Hataman, who served as Anak Mindanao representative from 2001 to 2010 and won as representative of Basilan.


COPYRIGHT 2019 Manila Bulletin Publishing Corp.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National
Publication:Manila Bulletin
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:May 23, 2019
Previous Article:Panelo: Ex-Ombudsman not a security threat; she is a good friend and one time dance partner.
Next Article:Senator-elect Go plans to summon outgoing Senator Trillanes.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |