Printer Friendly

27 MPs declared winners by default in Sudan elections.

April 16, 2010 (KHARTOUM) -- The National Elections Commission (NEC) today announced the names of 27 winners by default in the National Assembly, the Southern Sudan Legislative Assembly and states legislative assemblies.

A Sudanese electoral staff listens to a colleague counting votes at a polling station in Khartoum on April 16, 2010. (Getty)

The names of winners are known since the start of the elections as there was only one candidate in these electoral constituencies. Most of them are in southern Sudan. In the national parliament, the NEC said five MPs have been elected by acclamations, four among them in southern Sudan, are members of Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM) while one from the National Congress Party (NCP) elected in eastern Sudan. The four SPLM winners for the National Assembly are -- the following is phonetic transcription from Arabic language -- 1- Angelo James Splitro, Central Equatoria, Juba West, 2- Atem Garang Deng, Jonglei, Bor, 3- Johnson Jonbiko Kwlang, Lakes State, Yirol West and 4- Waal Deng, Warrap, Gogrial West. The fifth MP chosen by acclamation is Mahmoud Ali Beatai, Kassala, Hemshkourib, the National Congress Party. The electoral board also announced that four MPs are elected by default for the Southern Sudan legislative Assembly. All of them are members of the SPLM. 1- Ngor Marc Lotidi, Eastern Equatoria, Kapoeta North, 2- Marc Lochabi, Eastern Equatoria, South Kapoeta, 3- Lino Makina, western Equatoria 4- David Deng Athorbi, Lakes state, Yirol west. According to the NEC, 17 MPs are elected by acclamation in 10 states, two MPs member of the NCP in: Northern Kordofan and Kassala, and eight SPLM MPs, in southern Sudan : Central Equatoria one MP, Eastern Equatoria two PMs, Western Equatoria one MP, Lakes state one MP, Jonglei one MP, Western Bahr el Ghazal two MPs, and Warrap six MPs. The first multiparty elections in the country since 24 years are seen as a crucial benchmark in the implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement signed by the ruling NCP and the former rebel SPLM. However, the SPLM northern sector joined by several opposition parties boycotted the electoral process in northern Sudan. They accused the dominant NCP party of irregularities and rigging. On Wednesday, the NEC decided to re-run elections in 33 national and regional constituencies, 15 for the national parliament and 18 in different states largely in northern Sudan. The electoral body admitted printing errors. Ballots in the concerned constituencies were missing candidate's symbols in other cases the logos were swapped. The elections in these areas are expected to be held with 60days as provided in the electoral law. (ST)

Copyright 2003-2009 SudanTribune - All rights reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2010 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Sudan Tribune (Sudan)
Date:Apr 17, 2010
Previous Article:UNAMID says kidnapped peacekeepers are unharmed.
Next Article:Chad president speaks against South Sudan secession.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters