Printer Friendly

2020: Karyn Pugliese.

Karyn Pugliese has been honored with the Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism. It will be presented to her by Canada's nonprofit Public Policy Forum in April 2020. Pugliese, former executive director for news and current affairs at the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), was recognized for her advancement, training, and leadership of Indigenous journalists throughout her career.

Selymar Colon was a member of the Univision team that has won several awards for "America First: The Legacy of an Immigration Raid," a bilingual documentary that provides context for the increasing arrests of undocumented immigrants by exploring what was then the biggest immigration raid in U.S. history. It took place in Postville, Iowa in 2008. The documentary won an Emmy in the outstanding feature story in Spanish category as well as a 2019 Edward R. Murrow award from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) in the excellence in innovation category, and Colombia's Gabo Award.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Harvard University, Nieman Foundation
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:NIEMAN NOTES
Publication:Nieman Reports
Date:Sep 22, 2019
Previous Article:2018: Tristan Ahtone.
Next Article:"Someone to restore my confidence in journalism".

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters