Printer Friendly

2006 TAPPI award winners and new Fellows.

Each year, TAPPI presents awards to members of the industry whose notable contributions have made them deserving of special recognition. We are proud to announce the 2006 recipients of the Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal, the Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award, the Outstanding Local Section Member Award, and the newly designated TAPPI Fellows.

Established in 1928, the TAPPI Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal is given to an individual or individuals who have made preeminent scientific and engineering achievements of proven commercial benefit to the world's pulp, paper, board, and forest products industries and the other industries that TAPPI serves. The 2006 Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal will be awarded to Nils Hartler, Professor Emeritus of the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden. The TAPPI Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal is the highest honor that the Association can bestow upon an individual.

The TAPPI Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award was first presented in 1994 and was established to recognize an individual for voluntary leadership and service which have significantly and demonstrably contributed to the advancement of the Association. David A. Carlson, Technical Director for Smurfit-Stone Container Corporation in Chicago, Illinois USA will receive the 2006 Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award.

The TAPPI Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Award recognizes outstanding leadership and exceptional service to one or more Local Sections which has resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to Local Section members. The 2006 Award will be presented to Lakes States Local Section member Sandra M. Lenz, Process Engineer for Appleton Coated-Locks Mill in Combined Locks, Wisconsin USA.

TAPPI Fellow is an honorary title bestowed upon less than one percent of TAPPI's membership, and is given to individuals who have made extraordinary technical or service contributions to the industry and/or the Association. The following individuals have been named 2006 TAPPI Fellows:

* Elwood M. Beach, Consultant, Aston Johnson, Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

* John L. "Jack" Clement, President, Clement Consulting Inc., Akron, Ohio, USA

* Richard J. Croker, Director Technical Services, Georgia-Pacific Corp., Atlanta, GA, USA

* Jose L. Gomide, Professor, Universidade Federal De Vicosa, Department of Forestry, Vicosa, Brazil

* Gopal C. Goyal, Manager Fiber Development Technology Center, International Paper, Loveland, Ohio, USA

* Michael E. Haas, Technical Director, Longview Fibre Company, Longview, WA, USA

* John E. Hanby, Executive Director, Washington Pulp & Paper Foundation, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA

* Jonathan C. Kerr, Director, Sales & Technology, Andritz Inc., Loveland, OH, USA

* Margaret K. Joyce, Ph.D., Research Professor, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

* Max D. Moskal, Principal Metallurgical Engineer, Mechanical & Materials Engineering, Indian Head Park, Illinois, USA

* Nick G. Triantafillopoulos, Ph.D., Director of New Technologies, Rohm-Nova, Akron, Ohio, USA

* Barbara van Lierop, Scientist, PAPRICAN, Pointe Claire, Quebec, Canada

The 2006 award winners and new TAPPI Fellows will be honored at the TAPPI Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony, March 8, 2006 in Atlanta, Georgia, USA
COPYRIGHT 2006 Paper Industry Management Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:TAPPI NEWS
Publication:Solutions - for People, Processes and Paper
Date:Mar 1, 2006
Previous Article:Three elected to TAPPI Board of Directors.
Next Article:New or revised Technical Information Papers (TIPs) and Test Methods.

Related Articles
TAPPI 2002 Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony.
TAPPI 2003 Annual Meeting scheduled for March in Orlando.
TAPPI Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony and Fellows Luncheon.
David E. Peakes to receive TAPPI Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award.
Corrugated Packaging Division Technical Award and Bettendorf Prize.
The PLACE (Polymers, Laminations, Adhesives, Coatings, and Extrusions) Division of TAPPI announced several awards at the 2005 PLACE Conference in Las...
Research Management Committee requests nominations for William H. Aiken Prize.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters