Printer Friendly

2005 president and Board members: Scot Dapp of Moravian College will lead the American Football Coaches Association in 2005 as president of the organization.

Dapp, who moves up from second vice-president of the Association, succeeds outgoing president Ken Hatfield of Rice U. Dapp was elected president by members attending the Association's 2005 convention in Louisville, KY.


"Just being named to the Board of Trustees in 1999 was a great honor," Dapp said. "I hope I can live up to the level of excellence set by the coaches who have been in this position before me. Regardless of the division we coach, we all coach football and influence young people. I want people to realize that everyone who attends this convention and everyone working the sidelines on Friday and Saturday nights are doing wonderful things and the end result is so important in the development of young men."

In addition to Dapp, 2005 AFCA officers include first vice-president Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State U.; second vice-president Ken Sparks of Carson-Newman College and third vice-president Tyrone Willingham of the U. of Washington.

Also serving on the Board in 2005: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College; Rob Ash, Drake U.; Chuck Amato, North Carolina State U.; Lloyd Carr, U. of Michigan; Bill Snyder, Kansas State U.; Mike Bellotti, U. of Oregon; Tim Murphy, Harvard U.; Joe Glenn, U. of Wyoming; Joe Novak, Northern Illinois U.; Tommy Tuberville, Auburn U., and Rob Ianello, U. of Notre Dame, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee. Murphy, Glenn, Novak, and Tuberville are newly-elected members of the Board this year. AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Dapp is the first coach from Moravian to serve as president of the AFCA. He was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1999. Dapp is the first coach from a Division III school to serve as AFCA President since Central's (Iowa) Ron Schipper in 1994.

In 18 seasons at Moravian, Dapp has a career record of 110-74-1. His tenure at the Bethlehem, PA, school has been the most successful period in Moravian football history. The Greyhounds have made two trips to the NCAA playoffs, including a berth in the 1988 South Region final; a Middle Atlantic Conference championship in 1988 and a Commonwealth Division title in 1993; ECAC Southeast Championship game appearances in 2002 and 2004 and a string of 11 consecutive winning seasons--the longest streak in school history.

Before coming to Moravian in 1987, Dapp served as assistant coach and recruiting coordinator at Delaware State. He spent seven years at Susquehanna, where he coached defensive backs and linebackers and served as defensive coordinator. In 1983, Dapp helped the Crusaders to a ninth-place national ranking. He also coached the Susquehanna baseball team. Dapp's credentials also include two seasons as offensive backfield coach at Kutztown U.

A 1973 graduate of West Chester U., Dapp earned his master's degree in physical education from the U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He also is a National Athletic Trainers Association-certified trainer and is a professor of physical education at Moravian.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Scholastic, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Coach and Athletic Director
Geographic Code:1U6KY
Date:Mar 1, 2005
Previous Article:Substance over style: Jim Tressel is the man behind the Buckeyes' renaissance.
Next Article:Coaching thoughts from Louisville.

Related Articles
2003 president and board members. (A Post-Convention Special Report).
2003 officers & trustees.
Is it looavul, luhvul, or looeyville?
2004 president and board members: Ken Hatfield of Rice University will lead the American Football Coaches Association in 2004 as president of the...
Calling all football coaches: 81st Annual Convention of the American Football Coaches Association January 9-12, 2005 Kentucky International...
AFCA highlights: Louisville.
AFCA convention.
AFCA's PDS: building better coaches.
Meet the new president Northwest Missouri State's Mel Tjeerdsma named 2006 AFCA President.
83rd annual convention of the AFCA.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters