Printer Friendly

2004 Commonwealth Writers Prize winners announced.


British writer Caryl Phillips has won the Commonwealth Writers Prize 2004 Best Book award.

The New York-based author collected his GBP10,000 prize for the book 'A Distant Shore' in a ceremony held at the State Library of Victoria in Melbourne, Australia.

Another British author, Mark Haddon, took home the GBP3,000 Commonwealth Writers Prize 2004 Best First Book award for his novel 'The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time', reports The Age.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Caryl Phillips, Mark Haddon
Publication:M2 Best Books
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:May 18, 2004
Previous Article:Borders UK creates new district manager positions.
Next Article:Edinburgh's last general independent bookstore closes after 110 years.

Related Articles
Commonwealth Writers Prizes awarded.
Whitbread winners announced ahead of overall prize.
Haddon claims Whitbread Book of the Year prize.
Borders announces winners of Borders Original Voices Awards.
Impac Award longlist announced.
2006 Commonwealth Writers' Prize won by Kate Grenville.
Nominees for Costa Book Awards announced.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |