Printer Friendly

2003 president and board members. (A Post-Convention Special Report).

Phil Fulmer of Tennessee University will lead the American Football Coaches Association in 2003 as president of the organization.

Fulmer, former first vice-president of the AFCA, succeeds outgoing president Glen Mason of Minnesota U. Fulmer was elected in January at the Association's convention in New Orleans. "I'm obviously very excited about the opportunity. It's a great honor," Fulmer said. "I'm particularly proud to be a part of the efforts we've made under Grant Teaff. A lot of work has been done and I'm looking forward to continuing it."

The AFCA, founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Stagg, John Heisman, and others, has more than 9,000 members from all levels of the coaching profession. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to "maintain the highest possible standards in football and the coaching profession," and to "provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football and coaching."

In addition to Fulmer, 2003 AFCA officers include first vice-president Ken Hatfield, Rice U.; second vice-president Paul Pasqualoni, Syracuse U., and third vice-president Scot Dapp of Moravian College.

Also serving on the Board will be: Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State U.; Ron Randleman, Sam Houston State U.; Ken Sparks, Carson-Newman College; John Mackovic, U. of Arizona; Larry Kehres, Mount Union College; Tyrone Willingham, U. of Notre Dame; Todd Berry, U.S. Military Academy; Tony Samuel, New Mexico State U.; Rob Ash, Drake U.; Chuck Amato, North Carolina State U.; Lloyd Cam U. of Michigan and Rob Ianello, U. of Arizona, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee.

Carr and Ianello are newly-elected members of the Board this year. AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Fulmer joins Johnny Majors (1990) as the second Volunteers coach to serve as president of the AFCA. He was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1996.

Fulmer recently completed his 11th season at Tennessee. He has a career record of 103-25 (.805) and has led the Vols to 10 or more wins in a season six times, including 49 victories in the last five years. From 1995 to 1998, Tennessee was 45-5, the most wins in a four-year span in school history.
COPYRIGHT 2003 Scholastic, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:American Football Coaches Association
Publication:Coach and Athletic Director
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 1, 2003
Previous Article:Membership benefits. (A Post-Convention Special Report).
Next Article:The Jason Foundation. (A Post-Convention Special Report).

Related Articles
Hayden Fry & LaVell Edwards to speak at Master Coach session. (Top Story).
Membership benefits. (A Post-Convention Special Report).
Is it looavul, luhvul, or looeyville?
American Football Coaches Foundation[TM].
Giving opportunities.
AFCA membership benefits.
2004 president and board members: Ken Hatfield of Rice University will lead the American Football Coaches Association in 2004 as president of the...
Membership benefits.
82nd annual convention of the AFCA.
83rd annual convention of the AFCA.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters