Printer Friendly

1999 ACM Awards Ceremony Held in New York City.

Recipients of ACM's 1998 awards and the new 1999 ACM Fellows were honored on May 15th at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Robert Metcalfe, inventor of the Ethernet, was the master of ceremonies and Vinton Cerf, "father" of the Internet, presented the keynote speech. Event highlights included a special presentation about computing pioneer Alan M. Turing and the history of the prestigious ACM A. M. Turing Award.

Recipients of the A. M. Turing Award (James N. Gray, Microsoft Research), the Allen Newell Award (Saul Amarel, Rutgers University), the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award (Robert L. Ashenhurst, University of Chicago, and Peter J. Denning, George Mason University), and the Doctoral Dissertation Award (Hari Balakrishnan, University of California at Berkeley) were featured in the March issue of ACMemberNet. Other award winners are featured below.

Software System Award

The ACM Software System Award is presented to an institution or individual(s) recognized for developing a software system that has had lasting influence, as reflected in the system's contributions to conceptualization or its commercial acceptance, or both. The award is accompanied by a prize of $10,000, provided by IBM.

John M. Chambers (Bell Laboratories/Lucent Technologies) is this year's award winner for the conception and engineering of the S system, which has forever altered how people analyze, visualize, and manipulate data. In the 1970's early versions of S pioneered the use of data visualization and interactive statistical computing. Due to the S system's functional object-based approach, subsequent versions were able to provide richly enhanced modeling capability and user extensibility. More recent versions provide a powerful class/method structure, new techniques to deal with large objects, extended interfaces to other languages and files, object based documentation compatible with HTML, and powerful interactive programming techniques. The commercial version, S-Plus, is used across many disciplines to manage and extract useful information from data.

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award

Abraham (Avi) Silberschatz (Bell Laboratories) received the Karl V. Karlstrom Award in recognition for his contributions to computer science education through his books and his mentoring of students. Silberschatz's book Operating Systems Concepts, co-authored with Peter Galvin and now in its fifth edition, is an established reference for professionals and an accessible text for the beginner. His book Database Systems Concepts has been similarly successful and both books have been translated into more than seven languages and are in worldwide use. Silberschatz has enriched the field also by his mentoring of doctoral and undergraduate students, his preparation of educational materials for industry, and his service on committees that evaluate computer science departments.

The Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award is given annually to an educator who: is appointed to a recognized baccalaureate educational institution; is recognized for advancing new teaching methodologies, or effecting new curriculum development or expansion in computer science and engineering; or who is making significant contributions to the educational mission of the ACM. Those who have taught for 10 years or less are given special consideration. Prentice-Hall Publishing Company provides a $5,000 prize as part of the award.

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award

The Kanellakis Award honors specific theoretical accomplishments that have had significant and demonstrable effect on the practice of computing. The $5,000 prize is supported by contributions from the Kanellakis family, Brooks/Cole and Thomson Learning, ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computational Theory (SIGACT), Design Automation (SIGDA), Management of Data (SIGMOD), Programming Languages (SIGPLAN), the SIG Discretionary Fund, and individual contributions.

Randal E. Bryant (Carnegie Mellon University), Edmund M. Clarke, Jr. (Carnegie Mellon University), E. Allen Emerson (University of Texas at Austin), and Kenneth L. McMillan (Cadence Berkeley Labs) jointly received this year's Kanellakis Award for for their invention of "symbolic model checking." This is a method of formally checking system designs that is widely used in the computer hardware industry and is beginning to show significant promise also in software verification and other areas.

Model checking was invented in 1981 by Clarke and Emerson. This technique made it possible to algorithmically verify logical properties, expressed in a notation called temporal logic, of finite-state systems. Clarke and Emerson were able to use model checking to find some very subtle design errors in published hardware designs. The size of the state space was seriously limited, however, by the amount of available computer memory. In 1985, Bryant developed a new representation of Boolean functions, called OBDDs (Ordered Binary Decision Diagrams). Bryant's crucial contribution was to show that by fixing the order of testing of Boolean variables in binary decision diagrams, these diagrams become very tractable computationally. McMillan then realized that OBDDs can symbolically represent sets of states in state-transition systems. In 1987, he developed a software tool called SMV (Symbolic Model Verifier) with which systems with over 10^20 states could be verified, and symbolic model checking was born.

Additional ACM Awards

The Eckert-Mauchly Award, including a $5,000 prize, is administered jointly by ACM and IEEE Computer Society and is awarded for contributions to computer and digital systems architecture. The 1999 Eckert-Mauchly Award was presented at the 26th Annual International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA) in Atlanta on May 3, 1999 to James E. Smith (University of Wisconsin) for fundamental contributions to high-performance microarchitecture, including saturating counters for branch prediction, reorder buffers for precise exceptions, decoupled access/execute architectures, and vector supercomputer organization, memory, and interconnects.

Nomination for 1999 Awards

Nominations are being sought for ACM's 1999 Awards Program. Nominations must include:

* Name, address, phone, fax, and email of the person making the nomination.

* Name, address, phone, fax, and email of the candidate for whom an award is recommended.

* A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) explaining why the candidate deserves the particular award. For the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, a curriculum vitae and listing of the candidate's Ph.D. students and their current positions are requested. It would be helpful to include candidates' curriculum vitaes for all other award nominations.

* Names, addresses, phones, faxes, and emails of others supporting the nomination.

Nominations for the 1999 awards should be submitted by September 1, 1999. Go to http:// or contact Rosemary McGuinness, Office of Policy and Administration at ACM Headquarters, for the appropriate subcommittee chair. Phone: 212626-0561; email:
COPYRIGHT 1999 Association for Computing Machinery, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1999 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Communications of the ACM
Date:Jun 1, 1999
Previous Article:ACM Briefs House on Computer Policy.
Next Article:ACM Magazine Group Launches First Issue of intelligence.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters