Printer Friendly

101st Gascoigne Cup to Soundtrack.

The Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron's historic Gascoigne Cup sailed into its second century in late October with victory going to prominent Squadron member and yachting administrator Tim Cox in his J35 Soundtrack, with son Edward on the helm.

Tim Cox, a retired senior RAN officer, is well known as the long-serving chairman of the Race Committee for the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia's Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race. He is also a member of the Sailing Committee of the RSYS.

This was the 101st Gascoigne Cup conducted by the RSYS, although the 2009 race marked 124 years since it was first presented to the RSYS in 1886, as it was not contested during the war years.

Many famous yachts have won this iconic short ocean race off Sydney Heads, including Norn, Caprice of Huon, Apollo and Margaret Rintoul IL The first winner in 1886 was Sir James Fairfax's Magic, one of the crack gaff-riggers sailing with the Squadron in the 1880s.

The winner of the Gascoigne Cup is the yacht in the combined Divisions 1 and 3 with the lowest corrected time under Performance Handicaps, with Soundtrack winning by a comfortable 2 minutes 39 seconds on corrected time from two other Division 3 boats, the Nymph 33 Zephyr (James Connell and Alex Brandron) from Balmain Sailing Club, and the RP36 Lisdillon (Desmond Fagan). Only 21 seconds separated second and third.

The race started in a light but steady south-easterly breeze of 8-10 knots, with RSYS race officer David Reid setting a short course of 14 nautical miles in view of the expected continuation of light winds during the afternoon.

Leslie Green's Swan 60 Ginger led the fleet throughout the race to take line honours from Matthew Short's TP52 Shortwave, Michael Cranitch's Open 60 Broomstick and Jeff Carter's Farr 40 Edake. Soundtrack finished 17th in the fleet of 28 yachts.

Under IRC ratings for Divisions 1 and 3, provisional first place went to Ray Entwistle's consistent J/122 Jackpot from Jeff Carter's Farr 40 Edake with Ginger third and Soundtrack fourth.


The Gascoigne Cup was also the third race in the CYCA's Grant Thornton Short Ocean Pointscore, with Jackpot winning IRC Division 1 from Edake and Ginger. Soundtrack won IRC Division 3 from Zephyrand John Taylor's Allegro, which also lifts the J35 to equal first in the SOPS pointscore with Crosshaven (S Rahilly and J Pelly).

Under PHS results for the Grant Thornton SOPS, Edake won Division 1 from Jackpot from Ian MacDiarmid's Hell Razor while Division 3 saw another victory for Soundtrack. Zephyr again took second place, third going to Lisdillon.
COPYRIGHT 2009 National Publications
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Race & Regatta Round Up
Author:Campbell, Peter
Publication:Offshore Yachting
Geographic Code:8AUST
Date:Dec 1, 2009
Previous Article:Vintage yawl Sanyo Maris wins Lord Howe Island race--again!
Next Article:Summer fun at the CYCA twilights.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters