Printer Friendly

10 great Cardiff derby wins.

2010, Championship: Cardiff City 2 Swansea City 1 MICHAEL Chopra''s goal double, including a 90th-minute winner, earned the Bluebirds victory in the first South Wales derby played at Cardiff City Stadium.

The Swans went ahead, but Chopra struck after 42 minutes to make it 1-1 and then netted the winner. From a long throw by Adam Matthews, Chopra raced in to fire into the corner of the net for the winner in time added on.

Cardiff City: D Marshall, A Gerrard, G Rae, P Whittingham, S McPhail, T Capaldi, D Blake, A Matthews, M Chopra, J Bothroyd, R McCormack. Subs used: J Ledley for Rae 63; K Etuhu for McCormack 70; A Wildig for McPhail 90.

1949, Division Two: Cardiff 1 Swansea 0 More than 57,000 people were at Ninian Park and it was Tommy Best who fired the winner after 74 minutes.

Cardiff City: P Joslin, A Lever, A Sherwood, G Williams, S Montgomery, W Baker, K Hollyman, D Blair, T Best, E Stevenson, G Edwards.

1951, Division Two: Cardiff 1 Swansea 0 The Bluebirds moved into second place in Division Two thanks to this win. Marwood Marchant fired the winner on 16 minutes.

Cardiff City: P Joslin, G Williams, A Sherwood, K Hollyman, S Montgomery, W Baker, M Tiddy, M Marchant, W Grant, R McLaughlin, G Edwards.

1951, Division Two: Cardiff 3 Swansea 0 Billy Baker, Wilf Grant and Mike Tiddy scored the goals as Cardiff swept to the top of Division Two. Goalkeeper Ron Howells, 24, was the star for the Bluebirds. Cardiff City: R Howells, C Rutter, G Williams, W Baker, S Montgomery, R McLaughlin, M Tiddy, D Blair, W Grant, D Sullivan, G Edwards.

1962, Division Two: Cardiff 5 Swansea 2 Mel Charles scored one of the finest solo goals in the history of South Wales derbies. He controlled a bouncing ball, beat three players and ran 60 yards with the ball before stroking the ball into goal. Scorers: Charles (2), McIntosh, Hooper and an own goal.

Cardiff City: D John, A Milne, R Stitfall, A Harrington, F Rankmore, C Baker, A McIntosh, D Tapscott, M Charles, I Allchurch, P Hooper.

1965, Division Two: Cardiff 5 Swansea 0 Ivor Allchurch (3) and John Charles (2) steered the Bluebirds to a victory which kept them up - and doomed the Swans to relegation.

Cardiff City: R Wilson, P Rodrigues, G Harris, G Williams, D Murray, B Hole, G Johnston, I Allchurch, J Charles, P King, B Lewis.

1980, Division Two: Cardiff 1 Swansea 0 Billy Ronson's goal six minutes from time won the first South Wales derby at Ninian Park for 15 years.

Cardiff City: R Healey, P Dwyer, J Lewis, D Campbell, K Pontin, R Thomas, J Buchanan, G Stevens, R Moore, W Ronson, S Grapes, Sub: C Sullivan.

1983, Division Two: Cardiff 3 Swansea 2 Trevor Lee celebrated his Cardiff City debut by scoring the winner in a Boxing Day clash. Roger Gibbins and Nigel Vaughan were the other scorers.

Cardiff City: A Dibble, C Smith, P Booth, P Dwyer, G Bennett, D Tong, G Owen, R Gibbins, I Baird, N Vaughan, T Lee. Subs: M Burke.

1987, Division Four: Cardiff 1 Swansea 0 Jimmy Gilligan netted after 53 minutes of this early-season derby. Swansea were down to 10 players, having had Joe Allon sent off inside the first half hour.

Cardiff City: G Moseley, S Mardenborough, M Ford, N Platnauer, N Stevenson, T Boyle, A Curtis, P Sanderson, J Gilligan, B McDermott, M Kelly. Sub: J Perry.

1993, Division Two: Cardiff 1 Swansea 0 Garry Thompson fired the only goal after 52 minutes, set up by Nicky Richardson.

Cardiff City: M Grew, D Brazil, D Searle, M Aizlewood, L Baddeley, J Perry, G Thompson, N Richardson, P. Stant, N Blake, C Griffith. Subs: A Bird, P Millar.

An ecstatic Michael Chopra is mobbed after scoring the winning goal in the last minute against Swansea in the last derby


Garry Thompson scored the only goal in the 1993 win
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:South Wales Echo (Cardiff, Wales)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Nov 5, 2010
Next Article:CLICK ON.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters