Printer Friendly

'We are the only effective opposition' EVERY WARD UP FOR GRABS WHEN TOWN GOES TO THE POLLS NEXT MONTH.


RUGBY'S Liberal Democrat group, which is fielding 36 candidates, is the first of the four to unveil its election campaign.

Group leader Cllr Jerry Roodhouse (Lib Dem, Eastlands) said his party was the only "effective opposition".

He said Labour, the Conservatives and Independents were "still frustrating us" by not opening up the council further to public scrutiny, by not creating better access to services, by hiking up the council tax without a full explanation and by refusing to accept a modest saving on red tape.

He said the Lib Dems were the ones who moved that the Town Centre Partnership be allowed to question the Asda development team over Chapel Street and that it was his side which was proposing a citizens' jury on traffic problems in and around the town - a wish opposed by all the other parties.

Deputy group leader Cllr Richard Dodd (Lib Dem, Paddox) said the group was getting bigger and better every year.

"In 1990 Rugby Borough Council had no Liberal Democrat councillors," he said.

"Then Jerry Roodhouse won the Eastlands seat. Since then we have grown to be 10 strong - the only growing political force in the borough."

He said reasons for this included keeping people informed via the party's Focus newsletter, holding regular surgeries and representing people's views regardless of political beliefs.

Full list of candidates ADMIRALS - Andrew Robert Coles (Lab), Karl Antony Cook (Con), Martin Furneaux Eversfield (Lab), Hilda Esme Fletcher (Lib Dem), Kathleen Hayter (Lab), Lilian Jennifer Pallikaropoulos (Lib Dem), Felipe Tejero (Con), Christopher John Thoday (Lib Dem), Richard John Prendergast Vereker (Con).

AVON AND SWIFT - Mary Andrews (Lib Dem), Hazel Winifrid Bell (Con), Richard Laurence Best (Lab), David Charles Carter (Ind).

BENN - Felicity Janet Bocus (Lib Dem), Keith Joseph Cassidy (Lab), James Hotten (Lib Dem), Christopher Pacey-Day (Con), Susan Margaret Roodhouse (Lib Dem), James Masih Shera (Lab), Francis Brian Whistance (Lab).

BILTON - Phyllis Allen (Lib Dem), Lionel Franklyn (Con), Craig Humphrey (Con), Anne Elizabeth Jones (Lab), Faye Louise Morris (Lib Dem), Beatrice Josephine O'Dwyer (Lib Dem), David Alan Wright (Con).

BROWNSOVER NORTH - Simon John Wallace Anderson (Con), Steven William Birkett (Lab), Carolyn Ann Robbins (Con), Heidi Maria Thomas (Lib Dem), Anna Elizabeth Trevitt (Lib Dem).

BROWNSOVER SOUTH - Claire Edwards (Lab), Anthony Nicholas Godwin (Lib Dem), David Spencer Henry (Con), Paul Albert King (Con), Mervyn John Leah (Lib Dem), Alan Charles Webb (Lab).

CALDECOTT - David John Barby (Con), Brenda Frances Clarke (Lab), Thomas Adrian Hardgrave (Lib Dem), Christopher Robin Holman (Lib Dem), Gwendoline Hotten (Lib Dem), Paul Michael Samuel Newsome (Con), Virginia Kathryn Taylor (Con).

DUNCHURCH AND KNIGHTLOW - Peter James Butlin (Con), Katherine Mary King (Lab), Ian Michael Morris (Lib Dem), Mark Julian Francis Pawsey (Con), Ronald Ravenhall (Lib Dem), William Albert Shields (Con), Ian Paul Smith (Lib Dem).

EARL CRAVEN AND WOLSTON - David Charles Elson (Con), Anthony Charles Harris (Lab), Douglas James Parsons Hodgkinson (Lab), Kevin Daniel Taylor (Con), Laurence Wright (Ind).

EASTLANDS - Vasanji Gulab Chhana (Lab), Jennifer Lesley Ferguson (Con), Susan Christine Peach (Lib Dem), Jeremy Mark Roodhouse (Lib Dem), Neil James Sandison (Lib Dem), Dunstan Edward Vavasour (Con).

FOSSE - Neil Parc Campbell (Con), William Mead Clarke (Con), Reginald Norman French (Ind), Richard Frank Gunstone (Lib Dem), Alexander John Illingworth (Lib Dem), Ronald Lissaman (Ind).

HILLMORTON - Richard Allanach (Lib Dem), Terance James Deery (Lab), Pauline Ann Elson (Con), Douglas Hall (Lab), Amanda Louise Lane (Con), Kathryn Margaret Lawrence (Ind), James Rule (Ind), William Hart Sewell (Con), Jesstina Jane Upstone (Lib Dem), Mary Jean Webb (Lab), Stanley Williams (Lib Dem).

LAWFORD AND KINGS NEWNHAM - Patricia Collett (Con), Peter Currie (Lab), David Winkle (Lab), Patricia Wyatt (Ind).

LEAM VALLEY - Gordon Dean Collett (Con), Benjamin Edward Ferrett (Lab).

NEW BILTON - Frank Edward Blackman (Lab), Stanley George Humphries (Con), Ishvarlal Govindbhai Mistry (Lab), John David Upstone (Lib Dem), Donald Lloyd Williams (Lab).

NEWBOLD - Denham Thomas Cavanagh (Lab), Raymond John Kirby (Lab), Vivienne Alexandra Seakins (Lib Dem), John Francis Wells (Lab), Caroline Susan Wright (Con).

OVERSLADE - Christine Anne Avis (Lab), Fiona Barrington-Ward (Con), Dianna Hardgrave (Lib Dem), Kamaljit Kaur (Con), Richard Andrew Lane (Con), Bryan Levy (Lab), Dorothy Irene Neville (Lib Dem), Gina Louise Oliver (Lib Dem), Ramesh Mohan Lal Srivastava (Lab).

PADDOX - Glenda Allanach (Lib Dem), Richard James Dodd (Lib Dem), Michael Edwin Hirons (Lab), Barbara Pauline West Johnston (Con), Nurjahan Shera (Lab), Stephen Anthony Tompsett (Con).

RYTON-ON-DUNSMORE - Ronald Alfred Backholler (Ind), Philip Alexander Cropper (Con), Bernard George O'Hara (Ind).

WOLVEY - William John Chase (Ind), Sally Maude Ravenhall (Lib Dem), Adrian David Warwick (Con).


GROWING FORCE: The Liberal Democrats' representation on RugbyBorough Council has increased from 0 to 10 in 12 years. (Front from left) Jerry Roodhouse with Ian Morris, Neil Sandison and other LibDem candidates. Picture: LISA CAREY
COPYRIGHT 2002 Coventry Newpapers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Coventry Evening Telegraph (England)
Date:Apr 11, 2002
Previous Article:No seat's safe at borough elections; EVERY WARD UP FOR GRABS WHEN TOWN GOES TO THE POLLS NEXT MONTH.
Next Article:Come and join us 'down on the farm'.

Related Articles
Push-button voting will speed up poll; ELECTION COUNTDOWN.
CRICKET: Ward pushes Test claims.
Labour wants to shut your polling booths; Row as opposition dubbed 'patronising'.
Labour battle to smash hold of Lib Dems on city.
Your chance to make your point; LOCAL ELECTIONS: Parties name their candidates as they prepare to battle for 18 city council seats.
City gets tough on voting fraud; ELECTIONS: Signature-checking machine and police presence among plans.
Race for power now hotting up.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters