Printer Friendly

Vietnam incorporates 2 disputed S. China Sea island groups in law.

HANOI, June 21 Kyodo

Vietnam's legislature on Thursday enacted by overwhelming majority an ocean law that declared two disputed island chains in the South China Sea as Vietnamese territory.

China, which also claims the two island chains, immediately condemned the Vietnamese move as "illegal and void."

The newly adopted Vietnamese ocean law incorporates management and development of Vietnam's territorial waters and exclusive economic zones and lists the Paracel islands and the Spratly islands as Vietnamese territory.

The Paracel islands, known as the Hoang Sa Islands in Vietnamese and as the Xisha Islands in Chinese, are located roughly midway from the coastlines of Vietnam and China. They are claimed by Vietnam, China and Taiwan.

The Spratlys, known as the Truong Sa Islands in Vietnamese and as the Nansha Islands, are located southeast of the Paracels and are claimed in whole or in part by China, Vietnam, Taiwan, the Philippines, Malaysia and Brunei.

"The two island groups are Chinese territory. Any action or claim of sovereignty by a third country is illegal and void," the Chinese Foreign Ministry said in a statement.
COPYRIGHT 2012 Kyodo News International, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Asian Economic News
Geographic Code:9VIET
Date:Jun 25, 2012
Previous Article:Full text of communique by G-20 leaders -4-.
Next Article:Philippines opens school on island in Spratlys.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters