Printer Friendly

Teaching entrepreneurship.

THE ARKANSAS ASSOCIATION of Two-Year Colleges says eight of the state's two-year colleges will offer a business degree option and certificate in entrepreneurship this fall. That's a good thing.

"Economic development is more important than ever in today's economy, and this program will help to create jobs in Arkansas by enabling and empowering people to start their own businesses," said Ed Franklin, executive director of the association.

The Arkansas Venture Forum last week outlined the importance of entrepreneurship. Citing figures from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Entrepreneurship Center, it said 70 percent of a nation's economic growth is typically attributed to entrepreneurship.

The Arkansas Venture Forum issued a call for entrepreneurs seeking capital to submit executive summaries by Aug. 29 for the sixth annual Arkansas Venture Conference.

The finalists will make presentations at the conference, set for Nov. 18-19 in Little Rock, which in the past has drawn interest from surrounding states, including venture capital firms Name Location Founding date Managing Partners/Directors Specialty Capital managed
5AM Ventures Menlo Park, CA; Waltham, MA 2002 John Diekman, PhD (managing partner), Scott Rocklage, PhD (managing partner), Andrew Schwab (managing partner) life sciences $200M [1]
 and angel investors representing more than $500 million in capital.

Companies wishing to submit an application will find the guidelines at

The schools in the consortium are Arkansas State University Arkansas State University, at Jonesboro; coeducational; chartered 1909; named State Agricultural and Mechanical College, 1925–33. In 1933 the school became Arkansas State College, and in 1967 it achieved university status and adopted its present name.  at Beebe, East Arkansas Community College, North Arkansas College, NorthWest Arkansas Community College, Ouachita Technical College, South Arkansas South Arkansas is the greater area in Arkansas that encompasses the lower 15 counties of the state, with Union County being the most predominate. History
In the 1920s, nationwide attention focused on South Arkansas when the Smackover field was ranked first among the
 Community College, Southern Arkansas University History
Southern Arkansas University was founded as the Third District Agricultural School in 1909. One of four such schools established by the Arkansas Legislature in that year. It officially opened in January 1911 as a district secondary school for southwest Arkansas.
 Tech and University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville The University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville (UACCB) is a public community college located in Batesville, Arkansas. It is an accredited two-year university offering various Associates of Arts and Associates of Science degrees. . Pulaski Technical College Pulaski Technical College is located in North Little Rock, Arkansas, in the United States. Pulaski Tech has seven locations throughout Central Arkansas and online.

Degree and certificate programs include:
  • Associate of Arts (A.A.
 and Southeast Arkansas College will join in October.

This is a learning opportunity that all the state schools should embrace.
COPYRIGHT 2008 Journal Publishing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 Reader Opinion




Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Editorial
Publication:Arkansas Business
Date:Aug 4, 2008
Previous Article:Mouth-watering dish.
Next Article:The budget deficit.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2014 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters