Printer Friendly

Neighbor to Neighbor.

COLUMN: Neighbor to Neighbor

Jonathan Valeri, a mechanical engineering student in the ROTC program at the Boston University College of Engineering, has been accepted into the Naval Nuclear Propulsion program. Valeri chose submarines as his number one choice for the Service selection within the Navy. Valeri originally considered aviation, but a recruiting trip to Pearl Harbor convinced him to pursue submarines.

He is the son of Tommy and Kathleen Valeri of Sterling.

Christopher Lavelle, son of Christopher and Jane Lavelle of Clinton, was awarded a bachelor's degree in management and philosophy, summa cum laude, as a member of the Boston College class of 2009.

Lavelle was the Clinton High School Class of 2005 valedictorian. He received the Rev. Stephen Shea award, awarded to the senior who attained the highest average in all courses in philosophy during four years in the Carroll School of Management.

Joseph McNamara, of Lancaster, was awarded a bachelor's degree at Lynn University on May 9, graduating summa cum laude. He was one of approximately 500 graduates at Lynn, a private, non-profit school. He majored in hospitality management, specializing in resort and hotel management and plans to continue his education to earn his master's degree in business administration. He was a member of Sigma Beta Delta business honor society. He was awarded the Dean's Award for excellence in undergraduate education and The Trustee's Medal for outstanding scholarship, leadership, loyalty and service to Lynn University.

He graduated from Nashoba Regional High School in Bolton in 2005 and the son of April Kristoff and James McNamara.

The following local students graduated from Mount Wachusett Community College:

Berlin: Stephanie Compton;

Bolton: John Niggl and Christine Plante;

Clinton: Samuel Alfred, Carlos Formaggia, Ashley Harnois, Marissa Lanza, Devin Lombard, Mark Thomas, Joseph Vosburg, Ana Pereira and Tammy Stowell;

Lancaster: Jonathan Clark, Joshua Vailokaitis and April Greenlaw;

South Lancaster: Erika Schlueter; and

Sterling: Mallory Cormier, Lindsy Haven, Sharon Jorgensen, Shauna Pineo, Jennifer White, Kari Coughlin, Sharon Jorgensen and Allison Pineo.

The following area students were named to the dean's list for the Spring 2009 semester at Quinnipiac University: Brianna Heighton of Clinton and Kristen Ivaldi of Sterling.

Cameron Akers, of Bolton, a member of the class of 2012, was awarded a letter of commendation for the winter term at Cushing Academy in Ashburnham. Each term, a select number of students are awarded this honor by vote of the faculty in recognition of their outstanding growth and dedicated commitment to their academic tasks.

Gene Del Rosario, MD, internal medicine physician at Clinton Hospital and president of the Clinton Hospital medical staff, recently was nominated to the Clinton Hospital Board of Trustees by the Clinton Hospital Foundation. This nomination was approved by the UMass Memorial Hospitals, Inc. board at their April meeting.

A member of Clinton Hospital's medical staff since 2005, Del Rosario assumed the role of president of the hospital's medical staff last fall when longtime emergency medicine physician Ajeet Singh, MD, stepped down from the position. Singh subsequently relinquished his role as a Clinton Hospital Board Member. To fill that vacancy, the Clinton Hospital Foundation chose to nominate Del Rosario.

"Dr. Del Rosario is a wonderful addition to the Clinton Hospital Board of Trustees," said Sheila Daly, president and CEO of Clinton Hospital. "Serving dual roles as president of the medical staff and a primary care physician, Dr. Del Rosario is able to assist with communication between the medical staff and the Board of Trustees. Dr. Del Rosario is well respected among his patients and colleagues, and has a great deal of insight to offer our Board. We are very pleased to welcome him to his new position."

Del Rosario said he was honored to be elected to the hospital's Board of Trustees. He said, "It is important for a member of the medical staff to be represented on the Board of Trustees. This position will allow me to share day to day experiences and concerns of the medical staff, and ensure that the best possible decisions are made for the future of the hospital and our patients." He continued, "Clinton Hospital provides a very basic but valuable service to its community. It is unique to have a hospital that offers its community members warm, personal care close to home, while also offering access to the advanced services of UMass Memorial. The two complement one another very well."

Megan Anderson, of Berlin, graduated from Francis W. Parker Charter Essential School and plans to attend Clark University in the fall.

Amanda Gayle Wasel, of Clinton, graduated from Colby-Sawyer College with a bachelor's degree on May 9. She majored in child development.

The following local residents were named to the Spring 2009 dean's list at Saint Michael's College, a liberal arts, residential Catholic college located in the Burlington area of Vermont:

Jacqueline Cain, daughter of Richard and Jane Cain of Berlin, a junior journalism and mass communication and music major, who graduated from Tahanto Regional High School before attending Saint Michael's;

Stephen A. O'Neil, son of William and Diane O'Neil of Lancaster, a May graduate in American studies and accounting major, who graduated from Nashoba Regional High School before attending Saint Michael's; and

Jonathan P. Wheeler, son of Mark and Jennifer Wheeler of Lancaster, a junior classics-Latin major, who graduated from Nashoba Regional High School before attending Saint Michael's.

The following Sterling residents received awards and scholarships at the Monty Tech graduation:

Jillian Michniewicz, early childhood education, BEEF Financial Awards; Todd M. Landry Memorial Award; Sally Spry Memorial Award; President's Award for Educational Excellence; and The John & Abigail Adams Scholarship; Brian Moore, Electrical, BEEF Tools Awards; Ashley Leonardi, Cosmetology, President's Award for Educational Achievement; Jarrett Egan, Welding/Metal Fabrication, The John & Abigail Adams Scholarship; and Thomas Johnson, Welding/Metal Fabrication, The John & Abigail Adams Scholarship.


CUTLINE: (1) Christopher Lavelle. (2) Joseph McNamara. (3) Students from Nashoba High School's Banking Program gathered with Clinton Savings Bank to donate $1,000 to the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life fundraiser. Pictured (from left) are Deanna Witkowski, Nashoba High School Student and Banking Program Manager; Robert Paulhus Jr., Clinton Savings Bank's president and CEO; Gina Hall of the American Cancer Society; Cindy Alden, vice president of branch administration for Clinton Savings; and Rachel Hole, banking student. (4) The Exchange Club of Clinton Honored two youths of the month recently at its awards night dinner at the Old Timer Restarurant. Shown are (from left) Youth Committee/ Exchange Club Member John Hogan, Clinton High School Guidance Counselor Lauren Pupecki, Paul Zapantis, Ashely Trautner and Club President Brian Newton.
COPYRIGHT 2009 Worcester Telegram & Gazette
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA)
Date:Jun 26, 2009
Previous Article:Take a seat.
Next Article:George F. Coonan, 75.

Related Articles
Newcomer wins primary in 14th.
Cariglia chides rival's `outsider' backers; O'Day defends campaign tactics.
On the move; Organizations improve lives, neighbor to neighbor.
Neighbor to Neighbor.
Neighbor to Neighbor.
China offers Pakistan million dollars in emergency aid.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters