Printer Friendly

NABJ Names 2007 Hall of Fame Inductees, Special Honors Winners.

NYT's Baquet named 'Journalist of the Year', CNN's Shaw to receive Lifetime Achievement

WASHINGTON, May 4 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) will induct a renowned journalism educator, two broadcast pioneers and an accomplished media executive into the 2007 NABJ Hall of Fame, the association announced today.

At its spring meeting in Chicago, the NABJ Board of Directors voted to induct the following legends into the NABJ Hall of Fame this summer:
 -- Xernona Clayton-Brady: Trumpet Awards founder and broadcast pioneer who
 served as one of the highest-ranking corporate executives at Turner
 Broadcasting System over a span of 30 years. She began her television
 career in 1967 and became the first black woman in the South to host a
 daily prime-time talk show. In 1993, she created the Trumpet Awards to
 honor exceptional African-Americans in arts, entertainment and public
 -- Merv Aubespin: Past president of NABJ from 1983-1985. He established
 the organization's first national office and increased the visibility
 of NABJ internationally. For 34 years, he worked as an artist, reporter
 and editor at the The Courier-Journal in Louisville, Kentucky and has
 served as an advisor to newspaper executives seeking to recruit and
 retain journalists of color. Thousands of professional and aspiring
 journalists across the country affectionately refer to Aubespin as
 "Uncle Merv" as he remains a popular mentor and lecturer.
 -- John L. Dotson, Jr.: Former president and publisher of the Akron Beacon
 Journal and co-founder of the Robert C. Maynard Institute for
 Journalism Education. In 1994, under Dotson's leadership, the Beacon
 Journal won a Pulitzer Gold Medal for Meritorious Public Service for
 its coverage of race relations in the Akron community. The following
 year, he was awarded the John S. Knight Gold Medal, Knight Ridder's
 highest award for overall achievement. In 1993, NABJ presented Dotson
 with the NABJ President's Award for his exemplary journalistic career.
 He is a founder and former chairman of the Maynard Institute, an
 organization that has provided journalism training for journalists of
 color for more than 30 years.
 -- Jim Vance: Co-anchor of the longest-running anchor team in our nation's
 capital. Vance has worked for WRC-TV since 1969 and in 1972 became the
 station's main anchor. Between 1976 and 1980, he co-anchored with Sue
 Simmons, resulting in one of the first African American co-anchors of a
 major market television station. Vance has won 15 Emmy Awards during
 his 40-year career as a journalist.

"These four living legends have had a significant impact on American journalism," said NABJ President Bryan Monroe, vice-president and editorial director of Ebony and Jet magazines in Chicago. "As black journalists, we have learned from them and been inspired by them."

The NABJ Board also awarded these distinguished journalists with Special Honors:
 -- Dean Baquet, Washington Bureau Chief, New York Times was named
 Journalist of the Year. Baquet, one of the nation's top African
 American newspaper executives, resigned as editor of the Los Angeles
 Times in 2006 after refusing to layoff his editorial staff as ordered
 by the paper's owners and publisher.
 -- Bernard Shaw, former CNN correspondent and anchor is the recipient of
 the NABJ Lifetime Achievement Award. In 1980, he joined CNN as one of
 the first anchors for the network and was a leading anchor until his
 retirement in 2000. Shaw is noted for his embedded news coverage as he
 reported live from Baghdad at the onset of the Gulf War.

 Other Special Honors winners include:

 -- CNN, Best Practices Award
 -- Black Entertainment Television, Thumbs Down Award
 -- Glenn Proctor, Richmond Times Dispatch, Legacy Award
 -- Mara Schiavocampo, New York-based freelance reporter, Emerging
 Journalist of the Year
 -- Linda Waller Shockley, Dow Jones Newspaper Fund, Community Service
 -- Eddie Cole, Jr., Tennessee State University, Student Journalist of the
 Year Award
 -- Robert Adams/Jim Highland, Western Kentucky University, Journalism
 Educators of the Year Award
 -- National Union of Somali Journalists, Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist

Finalists for Chapter of the Year are the Washington Association of Black Journalists, NABJ Chicago, and the Association of Black Media Workers- Baltimore.

The Carolina Association of Black Journalists and the University of Georgia are finalists for Student Chapter of the Year.

Clayton-Brady, Aubespin, Dotson and Vance will be inducted during the NABJ Hall of Fame Awards at the 2007 NABJ Convention & Career Fair in Las Vegas on August 10. Winners of the other Special Honors categories will receive their awards throughout the convention.

Over 4,000 journalists from across the country are expected to attend the 32nd Annual Convention, August 8-12 at Bally's Hotel & Casino. The convention will feature the nation's largest journalism career fair along with specialized workshops, plenary sessions and professional development breakfasts for veteran and future journalists. For more information, please visit

NOTE: Members of the working press who will be covering the NABJ convention are required to obtain media credentials. As part of the process, reporters must submit a request for credentials on company letterhead signed by their supervisors. The letter must also include the specific days that the reporters will be covering the convention and the names and titles of all staff members who are requesting media credentials. A photo ID or press pass will be required for each person. For additional information on obtaining credentials, contact Kristin Palmer, NABJ Communications Manager at

An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation, with more than 4,000 members, and provides educational, career development and support to black journalists worldwide.

CONTACT: Kristin Palmer, Communications Manager of NABJ, +1-301-445-7100 Ext. 107, or

Web site:
COPYRIGHT 2007 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:May 4, 2007
Previous Article:Los Angeles Times Celebrates Biggest Festival of Books in 12 Year History.
Next Article:Adam & Eve Advertisements Kicked Off Risque Radio Shows!

Related Articles
Rock Hall of Fame Inductees Celebrate Their Addition to Cleveland's 'Platform of Fame'.
VH1 What to Watch Coming up on VH1 March 16 - March 22, 2001.
VH1 Presents Exclusive Coverage of 'Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 17th Annual Induction Ceremonies,' Airing Wednesday, March 20 at 9:00 P.M. (ET/PT);...
Kentucky Governor Fletcher Announces 2006 Music Hall Of Fame Inductees.
Energizer Announces First-Ever 'Keep Going Hall of Fame'.
National Inventors Hall of Fame Welcomes 2006 Inductees.
National Inventors Hall of Fame Welcomes 2007 Inductees.
Digital Journalism, Diversity and Debate Take Center Stage at the 32nd NABJ Convention in Las Vegas.
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and First Lady Maria Shriver Announce the California Hall of Fame 2007 Inductees.
Abu-Ghazaleh elected to IP Hall of Fame 2007.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters